Sat, 28/02/15 – 18:39 | No Comment

A week ago in the Daytona 500, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano finished second and first respectively. Saturday, in the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway, Harvick and Logano finished first and second respectively.
Harvick took the lead for the final time with 26 laps to go and held off Logano to win the [...]

Read the full story »
Penalty Hands Continental Win To Fall-Line
Info Manager |
Fall-Line Motorsports co-drivers Shelby Blackstock and Ashley Freiberg claimed their first IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge victory in Friday’s BMW Performance 200 at Daytona International Speedway when the No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M3 originally scored as the winner was excluded from the race due to a technical infraction.
Freiberg became the first woman to win [...]

Sat, 01/25/14 – 8:22 | Comments Off
Flat Spot On: Sunshine And Jaundice at the Rolex
Jonathan Ingram | Senior Writer

By Jonathan Ingram | Senior Writer
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – It was the warmest of times and the coldest of times on the day before the Rolex 24 at Daytona. The skies? They were murky and clear.
The warmth emanated from satisfaction that the long-held dream of a single united endurance racing series in North America [...]

Fri, 01/24/14 – 19:14 | Comments Off
Road Racers Honor Haywood with Phil Hill Award
Info Manager |
Hurley Haywood, winner of more endurance classics than any driver in racing history, has been named recipient of the 2014 Phil Hill Award by the Road Racing Drivers Club.
The award has been presented annually since 1993 to the person RRDC membership feels has rendered outstanding service to road racing. The recipient may be a driver, [...]

Fri, 01/24/14 – 18:50 | Comments Off
Ready Or Not, United SportsCar Is Set To Launch
Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

By Jim Pedley | Managing Editor
When the Rolex Grand-Am Series teams packed up and left Kansas Speedway after last August’s race, it appeared that hopes for a smooth transition to a unified American sports car racing  series in 2014 were in danger of leaving with them.
Time and pockets of squabbling had become the enemies of [...]

Fri, 01/24/14 – 11:35 | Comments Off
Gurney Puts Corvette Prototype On Rolex Pole
Info Manager |
Alex Gurney put the No. 99 Bob Stallings/GAINSCO Corvette DP on the overall pole for 2014 Rolex 24 with a fast lap of 1 minute, 38.270 seconds (130.416 mph) at Daytona International Speedway.
Gurney, son of the legendary Dan Gurney – winner of the first endurance race at DIS – collected the historic first pole of [...]

Thu, 01/23/14 – 19:20 | Comments Off
The Grand Tradition Of Gimmickry Rolls On
Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

This week, news broke that NASCAR appears to be on the verge of announcing major, radical changes to its season-ending, championship-deciding Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship playoff system.
A story published in the Charlotte Observer said changes will include an increase in the number of Chase drivers (from 12 to 16) and a driver elimination [...]

Thu, 01/23/14 – 8:57 | 7 Comments
Family Values Puts Wayne Taylor Back In Car
Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

By Jim Pedley | Managing Editor
This coming weekend, Wayne Taylor will get to live out a dream that is over 20 years in the making and no, it’s not the dream of driving in a unified American sports car racing series. It’s the dream of sharing the wheel of a prototype car with his two [...]

Wed, 01/22/14 – 20:44 | One Comment
NASCAR Introduces Revamped Qualifying Procedures
Info Manager |

NASCAR announced Wednesday that it is changing the qualifying formats for its three major touring series beginning with the 2014 season.
At tracks measuring 1.25 miles in length or larger, qualifying for the Coors Light Pole Award will consist of three rounds:
· The first qualifying elimination round [...]

Wed, 01/22/14 – 16:37 | Comments Off
Allgaier To Drive Phoenix No. 51 Cup Car
Info Manager |

Phoenix Racing announced Tuesday that Justin Allgaier will drive the No. 51 BRANDT Chevrolet SS during the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season.
Allgaier, who finished fifth in the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship points, will be a candidate for the NASCAR Rookie of the Year award.
“This is an opportunity of a lifetime and I intend [...]

Tue, 01/21/14 – 10:17 | Comments Off
Johnson Becomes A Five-Time DOTY Winner
Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson was voted the winner of the 2013 Driver of the Year Award, it was announced on Monday.
The 2013 DOTY is Johnson’s fifth, allowing him to eclipse Hendrick Motorsports teammate  Jeff Gordon, who was the only other four-time DOTY winner.
Johnson, the 38-year-old California native, continued to make NASCAR history [...]

Mon, 01/20/14 – 10:59 | Comments Off