Thu, 22/01/15 – 18:01 | No Comment

On Thursday morning, Jeff Gordon announced to his Hendrick Motorsports team that 2015 would be the last year that he competed full time in the Sprint Cup Series.
Thursday afternoon, the 43-year-old driver held a teleconference with the media to explain his decision and to take question about it.
Gordon, a four-time Cup champion and the winner [...]

Read the full story »
Woody: Just Let ‘Em Race
Larry Woody | Senior Writer

No passing.
No bumping.
No rough racing.
No action.
No fans.
That’s the downhill direction NASCAR has been headed in recent years, especially on the asphalt monster called Talladega. First they painted a yellow line on the track and said nobody could pass there. Next they outlawed bump-drafting in certain areas of the track – the drivers weren’t exactly sure [...]

Mon, 01/18/10 – 7:52 | 5 Comments
Ingram: Will The Racing Get Better?
Jonathan Ingram | Senior Writer

Jonathan Ingram | Senior Writer
From the Monday Morning Crew Chief:
At one of the toughest times for motor racing series around the world, it bears asking why some series have continued to sustain their dominant status and others have continued to merely muddle along or in some cases have disappeared.
Exhibit A is NASCAR, where there’s enough [...]

Mon, 01/18/10 – 7:34 | 6 Comments
Harris: Tour Tests Truth, Patience
Mike Harris | Senior Writer

Every year about this time, I start to get antsy.
I haven’t been to a race since November and I haven’t seen most of my racing friends and colleages since the Sprint Cup awards dinner in early December.
Worse, since most offseason testing has been banned since 2009, the hot stove league that kept the winter days warm [...]

Sun, 01/17/10 – 13:57 | One Comment
Kevin Swindell Wins Chili Bowl
Info Manager |
Kevin Swindell won Saturday’s 50-lap Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals main event at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.
Swindell led the final 26 laps and at 20 years old, became the youngest winner in Chili Bowl history.
He is the son of five-time Chili Bowl winner Sammy Swindell.
Darren Hagen started from the pole. Cory Kruseman spent [...]

Sun, 01/17/10 – 8:15 | One Comment
Thunder Notes: Harvick Won’t Commit To Future
Rick Minter | Senior Writer

By Rick Minter | Senior Writer
Daytona Beach, Fla. – Kevin Harvick, whose driving contract with Richard Childress Racing ends at the conclusion of the 2010 season, shed absolutely no light on his future plans during the media portion of his appearance at Preseason Thunder at Daytona International Speedway.
“I’m not getting in the middle of it,” [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 21:33 | One Comment
Peers Say It’s Junior Time
Rick Minter | Senior Writer

Daytona Beach, Fla. – NASCAR’s “Junior Nation” can take heart in some of the comments coming out of the Preseason Thunder media sessions at Daytona International Speedway.
The general thinking among Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s fellow drivers is that his sagging fortunes are headed for a turn-around.
Earnhardt finished 25th in points last year with two top-five and [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 15:00 | 6 Comments
Palin Books Daytona Date
Rick Minter | Senior Writer

By Rick Minter
Daytona Beach, Fla. – Daytona International Speedway president Robin Braig saiid Saturday that former vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin has requested credentials for the Daytona 500.
Braig said he ran the request by the France family, which controls the speedway and NASCAR, and got the go-ahead to host Palin, who will be in Daytona [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 14:32 | 7 Comments
Martin Considers Himself A Strong(er) Contender
Rick Minter | Senior Writer

By Rick Minter | Senior Writer
Daytona Beach, Fla. – Midway through the first flush of the fan and media appearances that signal the start of another Sprint Cup season, there seems to be one small group that isn’t quite ready to concede a fifth straight championship to Jimmie Johnson and his No. 48 team.
That group [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 12:41 | One Comment
KBM Unveils Crew Chiefs
Info Manager |
Kyle Busch Motorsports officials announced that NASCAR veterans Eric Phillips and Dan Stillman will serve as crew chiefs for KBM’s two entries in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.
Phillips will head up the No. 18 Toyota Tundra, which will be driven by team owner Kyle Busch and Brian Ickler. Busch will pilot the No. 18 [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 9:24 | Comments Off
Big Test Follows Big Year At Texas
John Sturbin | Senior Writer

Fort Worth, Texas – Sprint Cup racing at Texas Motor Speedway in 2009 produced two significant talking points:
Jeff Gordon won the Samsung 500 in April, ending a maddening streak that had seen the four-time series champion go 0-for-16 (with two last-place finishes) dating to the track’s debut in 1997. And an early-race crash involving points-leader [...]

Sat, 01/16/10 – 8:14 | One Comment