Fri, 22/08/14 – 16:06 | No Comment

American Alexander Rossi’s Formula One debut weekend with Marussia began and ended with Free Practice 1 for the Shell Belgian Grand Prix Friday, after the team hurriedly resolved its contract issue with Max Chilton.
Marussia reinstated Chilton for Round 12 of the FIA World Championship at Spa-Francorchamps one day after announcing native Californian Rossi would get [...]

Read the full story »
Franchitti Rolls To Pole In Toronto
Info Manager |
Dario Franchitti will start Sunday’s IZOD IndyCar Series even in Toronto from the pole.
The Target Chip Ganassi driver, who won this year’s Indianapolis 500, edged Will Power of Team Penske to get the pole. The pole was the 29th of Franchitti’s career and third in a row.
“That was a really hard-earned pole,” Franchitti said. “Track [...]

Sat, 07/7/12 – 17:17 | Comments Off
Info Manager |

Tim Kaeding beat the weather and his aggressive World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series competition in front of a near capacity crowd at the FVP Outlaw Showdown at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis.
“Being a California kid, when we see lightning we usually run and hide,” he said with a big smile. “We were [...]

Sat, 07/7/12 – 7:10 | Comments Off
Info Manager |

Guy Smith put Dyson Racing on pole position Friday for the American Le Mans Northeast Grand Prix in an exciting 15-minute session. Smith set a lap of 44.017 (120.553 mph) in Dyson Racing’s Mazda-powered Lola coupe that he drives with Chris Dyson.
All five classes set qualifying records on the 1.5-mile, eight-turn layout. The unquestioned highlight [...]

Sat, 07/7/12 – 6:54 | Comments Off
Kurt Busch Wins Wild One
Info Manager |
With a strong push from defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and with the field wrecking behind him, Kurt Busch took the checkered flag in the NASCAR Nationwide Series Race at Daytona International Speedway on Friday night.
Stenhouse came home second, followed by Michael Annett, who was pushing Austin Dillon during a green-white-checkered-flag finish that took [...]

Sat, 07/7/12 – 6:47 | Comments Off
Gray Sets Funny Car Pace
Info Manager |
Johnny Gray led Funny Car qualifying Friday at the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals at Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.
Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Allen Johnson (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana Sr. (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also were qualifying leaders at the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series event near Cleveland.
Gray drove his Service [...]

Sat, 07/7/12 – 6:32 | Comments Off
Kenseth On Pole At DIS
Info Manager |
Roush Fenway Racing’s Matt Kenseth, the series points leader, toured the 2.5-mile superspeedway in 46.781 seconds (192.386 mph) to win the pole Friday for Saturday night’s Coke Zero 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Daytona International Speedway.
Ryan Newman was second fastest.
Tony Stewart, Newman’s Stewart-Haas Racing teammate, was initially second after posting a lap of [...]

Fri, 07/6/12 – 18:35 | Comments Off
NASCAR CEO Talks Top Issues In Daytona Beach
Jeff Hood | Senior Writer

By Jeff Hood | Senior Writer
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – NASCAR’s summer visit to Daytona is traditionally considered the mid-point of the racing season.
It’s also an opportunity for NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France to meet the media to address a wide-range of questions related to the sport.
On the eve of Saturday night’s Coke Zero 400 [...]

Fri, 07/6/12 – 14:48 | 2 Comments
Drivers Favor Keeping It Real At NASCAR Tracks
Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

By Jim Pedley | Managing Editor
Reaction to a suggestion by race-track owner Bruton Smith to insert mandatory cautions into Sprint Cup races drew an assortment of reactions from drivers this week. Reactions that ranged from humorous to highly personal.
Included was a statement by NASCAR president Mike Helton that mandatory stops to spice action would never [...]

Fri, 07/6/12 – 8:24 | Comments Off
Jimmy Mosteller Was A Big Buddy To Racing
Rick Minter | Senior Writer

Race fans across the country are mourning the loss of their “Little Bitty Buddy.”
Jimmy Mosteller, a long-time racing announcer and co-founder of the old Hav-A-Tampa dirt racing series, died Wednesday.
Mosteller started announcing horse racing events after a brief try as an apprentice jockey. But he found his true calling while following his race-driver friend Jack [...]

Fri, 07/6/12 – 7:03 | 6 Comments
INDYCAR To Allow Drivers To Get Pushy This Week
John Sturbin | Senior Writer

By John Sturbin | Senior Writer
Push-to -pass returns to the IZOD IndyCar Series with this weekend’s Honda Indy Toronto, and defending event champion Dario Franchitti can’t wait to hit-the-switch on the Streets of Exhibition Place.
“It’s going to be very interesting, you know, with that push-to-pass, how much power are we actually going to get,” Franchitti [...]

Thu, 07/5/12 – 9:20 | Comments Off