Home » NASCAR - Camping World Trucks, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR - Xfinity Series, Track News

NASCAR Releases 2010 Schedules

| , RacinToday.com Tuesday, September 15 2009

NASCAR LogoRacinToday.com

NASCAR announced Tuesday the 2010 schedules for its three national series.

The Sprint Cup Series will again have a 36-race schedule starting with the Daytona 500 on Feb. 14, plus two “non-point” events – the Feb. 6 Budweiser Shootout at Daytona and the May 22 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Lowe’s Motor Speedway.

The Nationwide Series will again race 35 times, while the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will again have 25 events, including a new event at Pocono Raceway’s 2.5-mile triangle-shaped track on July 31, as a companion to one of the two traditional NASCAR Sprint Cup Series weekends there. The Pocono truck race will be the only new event on any of the three series’ schedules. It replaces the truck series’ previous February event at Auto Club Speedway.

There will be some significant “shuffling” of events in 2010, compared to the current season’s schedules.

In the Sprint Cup Series:

Qualifying for the Daytona 500 will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6, the same day as the Budweiser Shootout. Previously, qualifying was held the day after the shootout.

The season’s first Dover International Speedway race will be on May 16, before the all-star race and the Coca-Cola 600 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway. Dover traditionally has followed that consecutive two-week stop in Charlotte.

Phoenix International Raceway’s first race will be April 10, with Texas Motor Speedway’s first event April 18. Previously, Texas went first in April.

Also, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will have four “off” weeks including the traditional Easter holiday on April 4.

In the Nationwide Series:

A Nashville-Phoenix-Texas run on April 3, April 9 and April 17 will replace a Texas-Nashville-Phoenix spring lineup.

The first Dover race will be run earlier than usual, on May 15, in companion to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

In the Camping World Truck Series:

The Kansas Speedway race will be May 2, one week later.

The series’ race at Dover, as in the other two national series, will be held two weeks earlier, on May 14, kicking off a national series tripleheader weekend.

The Iowa Speedway and Gateway International Raceway events will be two months earlier, on July 11 and 16.

Nashville Superspeedway’s date moves a week later, to Aug. 7.

Kentucky Speedway’s date moves from July to Sept. 3.

The 2010 NASCAR schedules:

Feb. 6: Daytona International Speedway (Budweiser Shootout-x)

Feb. 14: Daytona International Speedway

Feb. 21: Auto Club Speedway

Feb. 28: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

March 7: Atlanta Motor Speedway

March 21: Bristol Motor Speedway

March 28: Martinsville Speedway

April 10: Phoenix International Raceway

April 18: Texas Motor Speedway

April 25: Talladega Superspeedway

May 1: Richmond International Raceway

May 8: Darlington Raceway

May 16: Dover International Speedway

May 22: Lowe’s Motor Speedway (Sprint all-star race-x)

May 30: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

June 6: Pocono Raceway

June 13: Michigan International Speedway

June 20: Infineon Raceway

June 27: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

July 3: Daytona International Speedway

July 10: Chicagoland Speedway

July 25: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Aug. 1: Pocono Raceway

Aug. 8: Watkins Glen International

Aug. 15: Michigan International Speedway

Aug. 21: Bristol Motor Speedway

Sept. 5: Atlanta Motor Speedway

Sept. 11: Richmond International Raceway

Sept. 19: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 26: Dover International Speedway

Oct. 3: Kansas Speedway

Oct. 10: Auto Club Speedway

Oct. 16: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

Oct. 24: Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 31: Talladega Superspeedway

Nov. 7: Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 14: Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 21: Homestead-Miami Speedway

x-nonpoints event.

Nationwide Series

Feb. 13: Daytona International Speedway

Feb. 20: Auto Club Speedway

Feb. 27: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

March 20: Bristol Motor Speedway

April 3: Nashville Superspeedway

April 9: Phoenix International Raceway

April 17: Texas Motor Speedway

April 24: Talladega Superspeedway

April 30: Richmond International Raceway

May 7: Darlington Raceway

May 15: Dover International Speedway

May 29: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

June 5: Nashville Superspeedway

June 12: Kentucky Speedway

June 19: Milwaukee Mile

June 26: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

July 2: Daytona International Speedway

July 9: Chicagoland Speedway

July 17: Gateway International Raceway

July 24: O’Reilly Raceway Park

July 31: Iowa Speedway

Aug. 7: Watkins Glen International

Aug. 14: Michigan International Speedway

Aug. 20: Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 29: Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

Sept. 4: Atlanta Motor Speedway

Sept. 10: Richmond International Raceway

Sept. 25: Dover International Speedway

Oct. 2: Kansas Speedway

Oct. 9: Auto Club Speedway

Oct. 15: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

Oct. 23: Memphis Motorsports Park

Nov. 6: Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 13: Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 20: Homestead-Miami Speedway

Camping World Truck Series

Feb. 12: Daytona International Speedway

March 6: Atlanta Motor Speedway

March 27: Martinsville Speedway

May 2: Kansas Speedway

May 14: Dover International Speedway

May 21: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

June 4: Texas Motor Speedway

June 12: Michigan International Speedway

June 18: Milwaukee Mile

June 26: Memphis Motorsports Park

July 11: Iowa Speedway

July 16: Gateway International Raceway

July 23: O’Reilly Raceway Park

July 31: Pocono Raceway

Aug. 7: Nashville Superspeedway

Aug. 18: Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 27: Chicagoland Speedway

Sept. 3: Kentucky Speedway

Sept. 18: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 25: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Oct. 23: Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 30: Talladega Superspeedway

Nov. 5: Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 12: Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 19: Homestead-Miami Speedway

Note: All dates subject to change

| , RacinToday.com Tuesday, September 15 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.