Briscoe Wins Kentucky Speedway Derby

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, August 1 2009
The IndyCar race at Kentucky featured a return to exciting oval-track racing. (Indy Racing League photo by Ron McQueeny)

The IndyCar race at Kentucky featured a return to exciting oval-track racing. (Indy Racing League photo by Ron McQueeny)


Nobody was apologizing for the quality of the racing after Saturday night’s IndyCar Series race at Kentucky Speedway. Not with the closeness and on-track intensity that went on in the Meijer 300.

Ryan Briscoe won the race but few knew that until the tapes of finish were replayed and showed that his victory was by a mere couple of feet over Ed Carpenter.

The official margin of victory was .01 seconds.

The two ran wheel to wheel over the final couple dozen laps and right behind them running wheel to wheel were Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves, who finished third and fourth.

“Unbelievable,” Briscoe, who moved to the series lead with his victory said. “That was a fun race.”

Carpenter, going for his first-ever victory and Vision Racing’s first-ever victory, also had a good time.

“I could just ask to be one place better,” he said.

The race marked quite a change from the last time the series took to an oval. That race, at Richmond International Raceway, ended with drivers apologizing to fans for the boring nature of the event.

In the time since, Indy Racing League officials went to work on modifications to the cars which they hoped would produce better racing. Their hopes came to fruition big time at Kentucky.

“They clearly made for good racing tonight,” Briscoe said of the changes, which included modifications to the body work of the Dallara cars and also a push-to-pass button which gave limited bursts of horsepower. “It was pretty intense.”

Briscoe, driving for Team Penske, headed out of Kentucky with an eight-point lead over Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon.

Graham Rahal finished fifth for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing.

Results Saturday of the Meijer Indy 300 IndyCar Series event at the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (3) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

2. (14) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

3. (9) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

4. (4) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

5. (10) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

6. (2) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

7. (1) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

8. (5) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

9. (20) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

10. (6) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

11. (7) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

12. (22) Sarah Fisher, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

13. (11) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 200, Running

14. (17) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 197, Running

15. (18) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Honda, 197, Running

16. (13) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 196, Running

17. (19) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 192, Running

18. (16) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 188, Running

19. (12) Robert Doornbos, Dallara-Honda, 185, Running

20. (15) Milka Duno, Dallara-Honda, 165, Running

21. (8) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 120, Mechanical

22. (23) Tomas Scheckter, Dallara-Honda, 59, Mechanical

23. (21) Jaques Lazier, Dallara-Honda, 43, Mechanical

Race Statistics

Winner’s average speed: 200.893 mph

Time of race: 1:28:24.3246

Margin of victory: 0.0162 of a second

Cautions: 1 caution flags for 6 laps

Lead changes: 20 among 7 drivers


| , RacinToday.com Saturday, August 1 2009
One Comment

One Comment »

  • […] goes back to work Saturday night at Kentucky Speedway, the result of many hours …   Briscoe Wins Kentucky Speedway Derby… League photo by Ron McQueeny) Nobody was apologizing for the quality of the racing after […]