Power Gets First IndyCar Victory

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 26 2009


Will Power (IndyCar photo)

Will Power (IndyCar photo)

Will Power won his first-ever IndyCar Series race when he beat Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves to the finish line under caution in the Rexall Edmonton Indy event in Canada.

Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing finished third and reclaimed his series points lead in the process.

Penske’s third driver, Ryan Briscoe, finished fourth.

Dixon’s teammate, Dario Franchitti was fifth and crowd favorite Paul Tracy was sixth.

Dixon now leads Franchitti in points, 380 to 377.

“It was one of the toughest races we’ve ever run,” Dixon said. “It’s definitely a tough circuit and it gets a lot tougher when you don’t have the best car. We were definitely hanging on. We seemed to be pretty good for about half the stint on the Firestone tires but we just abused them too much. After that it was just so slippery I just had to hang on. But it was a great day for Team Target. We gained some valuable points; we’re in the points lead so we’ve switched with Dario again It was just a very tough day.”

The race featured a very scary moment when a fueling problem spilled ethanol into the cockpit of the car of Tony Kanaan of Andretti Green Racing.

The fuel ignited and Kanaan had to be pulled out of the car.

Results Sunday of the Rexall Edmonton Indy IndyCar Series event July 26 at the 1.973-mile Edmonton City Centre Airport, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

2. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

3. (4) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

4. (2) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

5. (6) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

6. (9) Paul Tracy, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

7. (5) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

8. (15) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 95, Running

9. (10) Robert Doornbos, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

10. (18) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

11. (20) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

12. (14) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

13. (17) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

14. (12) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

15. (22) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 94, Running

16. (23) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Honda, 93, Running

17. (21) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 87, Running

18. (8) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

19. (16) Tomas Scheckter, Dallara-Honda, 73, Contact

20. (11) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 63, Running

21. (13) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 34, Pit Fire

22. (19) Richard Antinucci, Dallara-Honda, 20, Mechanical

23. (7) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 0, Contact

Race Statistics

Winner’s average speed: 109.497 mph

Time of race: 1:42:42.3773

Margin of victory: Under caution

Cautions: 1 caution flags for 2 laps

Lead changes: 5 among 4 drivers

Lap leaders: Power 1-32, Castroneves 33-34, Power 35-62, Briscoe 63, Dixon 64-65, Power 66-95.

– This reported will be updated soon.

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 26 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.