Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year

Three Added To DOTY Voting Panel

| , Monday, July 13 2009

Driver of the Year Staff

Barry Schmoyer has  named three additional top journalists to the panel of voting experts.

They include Jenna Fryer of the Associated Press, Tom Jensen of and Dustin Long of Landmark Newspapers.

Schmoyer said, “Due to the tragic and untimely passing of David Poole – and Mike Harris’ retirement from the Associated Press – it was necessary to review the panel and make additions to reflect the leaders in racing coverage.

“Although Mike has retired from the Associated Press he will continue to write for news outlets such as He is an invaluable resource, and, we are pleased that he will remain active on our voting panel.

Jenna Fryer began covering NASCAR for The Associated Press in 2000, and earned the byline “AP Auto Racing Writer” in 2005. She’s a New Jersey native and graduate of West Virginia University with a degree in journalism. Fryer is also a regular contributor to Yahoo! Sports.

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief for, Senior NASCAR Editor for RACER magazine and a contributing Editor for He is the author of “Cheating: The Bad Things Good NASCAR Nextel Cup Racers Do In Pursuit of SPEED.” He’s also the past President of the National Motorsports Press Association and the 1997 National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year.

“I’m looking forward to being part of such an August group of my peers and will play an active role in the process of Driver of the Year selection,” he said.

Dustin Long has a special situation as the first second-generation panel member. In his 11th season covering NASCAR for Landmark Newspapers, which includes the Virginian-Pilot in Norfolk, Va., the Roanoke (Va.) Times and the News and Record in Greensboro, N.C., he is the current president of the National Motorsports Press Association. Former panelist Gary Long of the Miami Herald is his uncle.

“I’m truly honored to be part of this select group and am excited to follow my uncle’s footsteps and be a second-generation voter,” Long said.

Schmoyer concluded the announcement by saying, “I’m honored that these important journalists, who are cognizant of all forms of racing, would join the panel and am looking forward to working with them.”

| , Monday, July 13 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti