Franchitti Wins At Toronto

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 12 2009
Race winner Dario Franchitti, center, is flanked by Ryan Briscoe (left) and Will Power (right). (IndyCar photo by Jim Haines)

Race winner Dario Franchitti, center, is flanked by Ryan Briscoe (left) and Will Power (right). (IndyCar photo by Jim Haines)


Dario Franchitti won the Honda Indy Toronto, besting Ryan Briscoe by 1.6745 seconds for his third victory of the season.

Franchitti led at the beginning and end of the race.

“I did my fastest lap on my second to last lap, and I wasn’t pushing hard, ” Franchitti said. “As usual, the Target guys gave me great cars.  The Target team just keeps doing a great job for me.”

For Briscoe, this is the fifth time in his last six races that he’s finished second.

“I’m trying to win, don’t worry,” Briscoe said. “I’m just getting these second places. I think in the last two races I’ve gained 13 points in the championship to the lead. So, you know, it’s not going all bad by far. Obviously, I’d like to go out and win races. I’m doing my best. Hopefully we’ll get some.”

Will Power, making his first start since the Indianapolis 500 in May, finished third. Both he and Briscoe commented on the ability to pass during the race.”The track, having a really long straight going into a tight hairpin-style corner with heaps of room to pass is what tracks need,” Power said.  “It just makes for great racing. If you’re fast, you can get through the field, you don’t have to sit behind and save fuel. That’s what the fans want to see.”

Scott Dixon was fourth and Justin Wilson, who won a week earlier at Watkins Glen International, rounded out the top five.

TORONTO – Results Sunday of the Honda Indy Toronto IndyCar Series event July 12 at the 1.755-mile Streets of Toronto, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

2. (11) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

3. (2) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

4. (8) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

5. (4) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

6. (18) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

7. (12) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

8. (17) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

9. (5) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

10. (9) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

11. (13) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 85, Running

12. (22) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 84, Running

13. (16) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Honda, 84, Running

14. (21) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 84, Running

15. (19) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Honda, 82, Running

16. (14) Tomas Scheckter, Dallara-Honda, 74, Contact

17. (20) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 70, Contact

18. (10) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 65, Contact

19. (15) Paul Tracy, Dallara-Honda, 65, Contac

20. (3) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 57, Contact

21. (23) Richard Antinucci, Dallara-Honda, 41, Mechanical

22. (6) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 32, Contact

23. (7) Robert Doornbos, Dallara-Honda, 26, Mechanical

Race Statistics

Winner’s average speed: 86.240 mph

Time of race: 1:43:47.1408

Margin of victory: 1.6745 seconds

Cautions: 5 caution flags for 15 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 5 drivers

Lap leaders: Franchitti 1-24, Tagliani 25-33, Moraes 34, Scheckter 35-40, Castroneves 41-47, Tagliani 48-59, Castroneves 60-64, Franchitti 65-85.

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 12 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.