Home » HEADLINE, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Truex To Move To Waltrip Racing In 2010

| Managing Editor, RacinToday.com Tuesday, July 7 2009
Martin Truex Jr. to move to Michael Waltrip Racing next season. (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Martin Truex Jr. to move to Michael Waltrip Racing next season. (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

By Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

Michael Waltrip will retire as a full-time driver at the end of the current Sprint Cup season and turn his Michael Waltrip Racing ride over to Martin Truex Jr.

Waltrip, the winner of four races in the series, will continue to drive on occasion. One of the races he will drive next season is the Daytona 500, an event he has won twice before.

In making the announcement Tuesday, he said he always knew the day would come when he would step down as a full time driver and, “That time is now.”

Truex will come over from Earnhardt Ganassi Racing, where he has spent his entire Cup career.

Truex will drive the No. 56 Toyota Camry and will be sponsored by NAPA Auto Parts.

Truex said he is committed to drive the No. 1 Chevrolet for EGR for the rest of the current season.

Waltrip has 742 Cup starts to his credit. He has 39 top-10 victories.

His first start came in in 1985 when he drove for owner Richard Bahre. In 1987, he began driving for Chuck Rider. In 1996, he moved to the Wood Brothers team. In 1999, he moved to owner Jim Smith’s team for two years.

In 2001, he was hired to drive for Dale Earnhardt Inc. It was for DEI that Waltrip won his four races, including the 2001 and 2003 Daytona 500s.

In 2006, he drove a car for owner Doug Bawel.

In 2007, he began his career as an owner/driver as he founded MWR.

Waltrip drove 462 races before he got his first victory. This year, Waltrip is 33rd in points as a driver. However, one of the drivers who works for him, David Reutimann, is 14th in points, 126 out of 12th. Reutimann gave Waltrip his first victory as an owner when they won the Coca Cola 600 this year.

MWR is a three-car team. Also driving for it is Marcos Ambrose.

Truex won the Nationwide Series championships in 2004 and 2005. He moved to Cup full time in 2006. He finished 19th in points for DEI that year.

His best year was 2007. Truex won a race that year, the sprint Dover race, and made the Chase. He finished 11th in points.

This year he is 24th in points.

| Managing Editor, RacinToday.com Tuesday, July 7 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.