Wilson Wins At The Glen In His Coyne-Operated Indy Car

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 5 2009
Justin Wilson and his Dale Coyne Racing team beat the big boys at Watkins Glen Sunday afternoon. (IndyCar photo by Ron McQueeney)

Justin Wilson and his Dale Coyne Racing team beat the big boys at Watkins Glen Sunday afternoon. (IndyCar photo by Ron McQueeney)


Justin Wilson gave team-owner Dale Coyne his first-ever victory in open-wheel racing when he won Sunday’s Camping World Grand Prix at the Glen IndyCar race.

Wilson got the victory by pulling away from the series’ big boys on a restart with six laps to go.

His victory at the 3.37-mile Watkins Glen International road course, was by 4.9 seconds over second-place Ryan Briscoe of Team Penske. Behind Briscoe at the end was Scott Dixon of the Target Chip Ganassi Racing team.

Wilson scored his victory for the little guys – nobody but Penske or Ganassi drivers have won since Wilson won last year in Detroit while driving for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing – with fine driving and a decision to stash away a set of the faster red-walled Firestone tires for the final stint of the race.

Coyne has been involved in open-wheel racing as a driver and team owner for 25 years and that has been how long it has taken him to visit Victory Lane.

Asked his thoughts about his first victory, Coyne said, “It took too long”.

Wilson said that on his white-flag lap, he “grinned from ear to ear” about the fact that he was about to secure a victory for Coyne.

By finishing third, Dixon moved to the points lead.

He had started the day a point behind teammate Dario Franchitti. He ended the day 19 ahead of Franchitti and Briscoe.

Results Sunday of the Camping World Grand Prix at The Glen IndyCar Series event July 5 at the 3.37-mile Watkins Glen International, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (2) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

2. (1) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

3. (3) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

4. (13) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

5. (8) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

6. (6) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

7. (10) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

8. (9) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

9. (17) Robert Doornbos, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

10. (11) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

11. (7) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

12. (18) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

13. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

14. (4) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 60, Running

15. (5) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 59, Running

16. (21) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Honda, 59, Running

17. (19) Milka Duno, Dallara-Honda, 58, Running

18. (12) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 51, Contact

19. (20) Richard Antinucci, Dallara-Honda, 47, Running

20. (14) Paul Tracy, Dallara-Honda, 29, Contact

21. (16) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 0, Contact

Race Statistics

Winner’s average speed: 111.915 mph

Time of race: 1:48:24.1947

Margin of victory: 4.9906 seconds

Cautions: 4 caution flags for 10 laps

Lead changes: 8 lead changes among 5 drivers

Lap leaders: Briscoe 1-3, Wilson 4-17, Briscoe 18-20, Wilson

21-40, Castroneves 41, Briscoe 42, Dixon 43, Andretti

44-45, Wilson 46-60.

Point standings: Dixon 313, Franchitti 294, Briscoe 294,

Castroneves 257, Patrick 238, Wheldon 224, Andretti 215,

Kanaan 214, Rahal 197, Wilson 187.

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 5 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.