Home » NHRA

Wet Track At Maple Grove Cancels Early Qualifying

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, October 1 2016
Rain in Reading forced postponement of NHRA qualifying on Friday. (File photo courtesy of the NHRA)

Rain in Reading forced postponement of NHRA qualifying on Friday. (File photo courtesy of the NHRA)


Rain and persistent mist prompted NHRA officials to cancel the first two rounds of professional qualifying Friday at the 32nd annual Dodge NHRA Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway. The event is the third race of the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship, NHRA’s six-race playoffs that will decide the 2016 world champions.

 Officials consistently worked throughout the day to dry the track in Mohnton, Pa., but as the temperature dropped and misting continued, racing was called at 4:25 p.m. (EDT). NHRA Mello Yello Series qualifying is set to begin as scheduled Saturday at 11:15 a.m.

The defending event winners are two-time/reigning world champion Antron Brown in Top Fuel; 2012 world champ Jack Beckman in Funny Car; Chris McGaha in Pro Stock and five-time/reigning world champion Andrew Hines in  Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Coverage on NHRA All Access will begin at 8:45 a.m. Saturday. Delayed qualifying on FOX Sports 1 (FS1) will be aired at 2 a.m. on Sunday, with the network airing live coverage of the finals beginning at 2 p.m. Sunday.

Friday tickets can be exchanged for admission on either Saturday or Sunday, but the customer is responsible for paying the difference in price. Fans must retain their tickets in order to exchange them. If Friday ticketholders are unable to attend the event on either Saturday or Sunday, further information will be provided soon.




John Force, Funny Car, 7; Angelle Sampey, Pro Stock Motorcycle, 6; Tony Schumacher, Top Fuel, 5; Jeg Coughlin Jr., Pro Stock, 4; Warren Johnson, Pro Stock, 4.


Top Fuel _3.701-seconds by Antron Brown, Oct. ’12; 334.15 mph by Shawn Langdon, Oct. ’12.

Funny Car _ 3.897-seconds by Jack Beckman, Oct. ’15; 329.34 mph by Robert Hight, Oct. ’15.

Pro Stock _ 6.465-seconds by Erica Enders, Oct. ’14; 214.59 mph by Greg Anderson, Oct. ’15.

Pro Stock Motorcycle _ 6.728-seconds and 198.73 mph by Andrew Hines, Oct. ’12.


Top Fuel _ 3.671-seconds by Steve Torrence, July ’16, Sonoma, Calif.; 332.75 mph by Spencer Massey, Aug. ’15, Brainerd, Minn.

Funny Car _ 3.822-seconds by Matt Hagan, Aug. ’16, Brainerd, Minn.; 335.57 mph by Hagan, May ’16, Topeka, Kan.

Pro Stock _ 6.455-seconds by Jason Line, March ’15, Concord, N.C.;  215.55 mph by Erica Enders, May ‘14, Englishtown N.J.

Pro Stock Motorcycle _ 6.728-seconds by Andrew Hines, Oct. ’12, Mohnton, Pa.; 199.88 mph by Hector Arana Jr., March ’15, Concord, N.C.


Top-10 competitors following the fifth annual AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Ill., second event of the six-race NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship playoffs:

Top Fuel _1.  Antron Brown, 2,258; 2.  Doug Kalitta, 2,245; 3.  Tony Schumacher, 2,204; 4.  Shawn Langdon, 2,181; 5.  Brittany Force, 2,167; 6.  Steve Torrence, 2,161; 7.  J.R. Todd, 2,152; 8.  Richie Crampton, 2,127; 9.  Leah Pritchett, 2,107; 10.  Clay Millican, 2,084.

Funny Car _1.  Ron Capps, 2,273; 2.  Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,225; 3.  Jack Beckman, 2,203; 4.  John Force, 2,199; 5.  Del Worsham, 2,189; 6.  Matt Hagan, 2,177; 7.  Robert Hight, 2,159; 8.  Courtney Force, 2,149; 9.  Tim Wilkerson, 2,144; 10.  Alexis DeJoria, 2,068.

Pro Stock _1.  Jason Line, 2,310; 2.  Greg Anderson, 2,247; 3.  Bo Butner, 2,223; 4.  Vincent Nobile, 2,185; 5.  Shane Gray, 2,167; 6.  Chris McGaha, 2,135; 7.  Allen Johnson, 2,127; 8.  Drew Skillman, 2,126; 9.  Jeg Coughlin Jr., 2,084; 10.  Erica Enders, 2,052.

Pro Stock Motorcycle _1. Andrew Hines, 2,260; 2.  Angelle Sampey, 2,258; 3.  Chip Ellis, 2,243; 4.  Jerry Savoie, 2,218; 5.  Eddie Krawiec, 2,184; 6.  LE Tonglet, 2,138; 7.  Hector Arana Jr., 2,115; 8.  Hector Arana, 2,107; 9.  Cory Reed, 2,105; 10.  Matt Smith, 2,096.


| , RacinToday.com Saturday, October 1 2016
No Comment

Comments are closed.