Home » Sports Cars

Herrera Wins Big Dirt Race At TMS

| , RacinToday.com Monday, September 12 2016
Johnny Herrera picked up a big check at Texas Motor Speedway over the weekend.

Johnny Herrera picked up a big check at Texas Motor Speedway over the weekend.


FORT WORTH, Texas – Johnny Herrera went wire-to-wire to capture the American Sprint Car Series Red River Region Sprint Car Championship race Saturday night during the U.S. National Dirt Track Championship at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track.

 Herrera, of Albuquerque, N.M., started on-pole and led all 25 laps en route to his fifth series victory of the season and first career win at the TMS Dirt Track. A late caution with five laps remaining erased Herrera’s comfortable lead. But a strong restart allowed Herrera, driver of the Mesilla Valley Transportation No. 45x, to quickly regain the advantage and win by 1.306-seconds over Danny Jennings, of Norman, Okla. Blake Hahn, of Sapula, Okla., finished third in a field of 21.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products will see action again on Oct. 8 at Timberline Speedway in Corley, Texas. Only three nights remain in the 2016 season. For continued updates on the series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Brandon Kenny, of Woodward, Okla., took advantage of a late caution to overtake leader Tracy Denby Jr. and win the Limited Modified Championship race by 0.196-seconds. Denby Jr., winner of this event in 2014, had led the first 25 laps of the 30-lap event before a caution with five to go set the stage for Kenny. Denby Jr. and Kenny battled side-by-side for the final three laps before Kenny sealed the win with a strong outside move coming out of the final turn.

 Justin Whitehead, of Texarkana, Texas, led 28 of 30 laps but had to stave off challenges by Taylor Carver and Jason Gore to win the Factory Stock Championship. Whitehead held off Carver, a two-time Factory Stock champion at the TMS Dirt Track, by 1.205-seconds while Gore finished third.

Results of the ASCS Red River Region/U.S. National Dirt Track Championship at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track in Fort Worth:

Heat 1 (8 Laps) _ 1, 52-Blake Hahn[1]; 2, 2-Mickey Walker[3]; 3, 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 4, 26M-Fred Mattox[5]; 5, 51-Ca,leb Martin[6]; 6, 98-Ryan Padgett[2]; 7, 3G-Brian Gramm[4].

Heat 2 (8 Laps) _1, 84-Brandon Hanks[2]; 2, 2C-Wayne Johnson[5]; 3, 2K-John Kelly[1]; 4, 8M-Kade Morton[3]; 5, 58-Gary Floyd[4]; 6, 2X-Tucker Doughty[6]; 7, 44-Jared Sewell[7].

Heat 3 (8 Laps) _1, 1J-Danny Jennings[2]; 2, 11X-John Carney II[5]; 3, 02-Brandon Long[3]; 4, 3-Raven Culp[1]; 5, 20G-Jake Greider[7]; 6, 55-Brad Queen[4]; 7, 05M-Charles McManus[6].

A Feature (25 Laps) _ 1, 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2, 1J-Danny Jennings[6]; 3, 52-Blake Hahn[3]; 4, 11X-John Carney II[5]; 5, 84-Brandon Hanks[8]; 6, 2C-Wayne Johnson[2]; 7, 3-Raven Culp[14]; 8, 2-Mickey Walker[7]; 9, 02-Brandon Long[4]; 10, 8M-Kade Morton[12]; 11, 51-Caleb Martin[13]; 12, 2X-Tucker Doughty[16]; 13, 26M-Fred Mattox[9]; 14, 20G-Jake Greider[11]; 15, 98-Ryan Padgett[18]; 16, 3G-Brian Gramm[21]; 17, 44-Jared Sewell[19]; (DNS); 18, 58-Gary Floyd; (DNS); 19, 55-Brad Queen; (DNS); 20, 2K-John Kelly; (DNS); 21, 05M-Charles McManus.

Limited Modified Championship (30 laps)_ 1, Brandon Kenny; 2, Tracy Denby Jr.; 3, Chris Dawson; 4, Gabe Tucker; 5, Kale Westover; 6, JJ Jennings; 7, Brandon Ball; 8, Derick Grigsby; 9, Jacob Pirkle; 10, Jeff Autry; 11, Robert Vetter; 12, Clint Dosser; 13, Travis Johnson; 14, Justin Nabors; 15, Taylor Frost; 16, Dustin Robinson; 17, Tom Lorenz; 18, Nick Clinkenbeard; 19, Nathan Pounds; 20, David Tanner; 21, Rowdy Day; 22, Mickey Helms; 23, Kevin Simpson; 24, Tim Clonch.

Factory Championship (30 laps) _ 1, Justin Whitehead; 2, Taylor Carver; 3, Jason Gore; 4, Jeff Hauser; 5, Casey Lyles; 6, Bobby Jordan; 7, Dennis Bissonnette; 8, Trey Smitherman; 9, Ricky Sessions; 10, Byron Fletcher; 11, Kenneth Chamberlain; 12, Dustin Robnett; 13, Tim Clonch; 14, Jamey Lough; 15, Tim Pounds; 16, Kirk Martin; 17, Nathan Sexton; 18, Rav Kemp; 19, Jimmy Day; 20, Scotty Nichols; 21, Chrk Ross.


| , RacinToday.com Monday, September 12 2016
No Comment

Comments are closed.