Home » HEADLINE, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Biffle Gives Roush Fenway A Rare Cup Pole

| , RacinToday.com Friday, July 1 2016
Greg Biffle will start from the pole at Daytona this weekend. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Greg Biffle will start from the pole at Daytona this weekend. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Roush Fenway Racing won a Sprint Cup pole for the first time since 2013 on Friday when Greg Biffle was laid down the fastest lap in qualifying at Daytona International Speedway.

The pole was the first for Biffle since 2012 and came at 192.955 mph. After winning it, he kept it in perspective.


“You know, a restrictor plate pole,” Biffle said, “I am not going to discredit winning a pole but we would sure like to win an open race track as well. We have been really close with a couple outside front row starts and just haven’t quite gotten there. It does feel good for our team though. Not only did we win the pole but the cars are technically in race trim right now so that tells you how fast of a car we have lining up tomorrow night.

“That makes you feel good about things. You go to a Kansas or Michigan or someplace like that and put the car in race trim and it isn’t as fast or there are changes, here you just really take the tape off it and adjust a few things and you are ready to go. The car has speed for tomorrow night and that is one thing we are happy about.”

Second fastest Friday at DIS was Carl Edwards of Joe Gibbs Racing. Edwards was the last driver to
win a Cup race for Roush Fenway and that came in 2014.

Third fastest on Friday was Kyle Busch of JGR. His lap came at 192.336 mph and it came in a backup car as Busch crashed hard during the day’s lone Cup practice session.

Rounding out the top five were Ricky Stenhouse Jr. of Roush Fenway and Brad Keselowski of Team Penske.

Biffle was asked about the significance of putting two Roush Fenway Fords in the top five and also a third Ford from Keselowski.

Slow down, Biffle said.

“We have to be careful about not confusing restrictor plate racing with downforce racing because they are two completely different animals,” he said, “We are extremely happy that our downforce program has made huge strides. We were running 25th to 30th and to be perfectly honest we are running eighth to 12th or 14thright now. That is not where we want to be but it is a heck of a lot better than where we were. We are working very hard to get to that top-five and on. We don’t have the finishes to show for it, the 16 team doesn’t, and we had a great run going at Michigan and Ricky had a flat in front of us on the last restart.

“On the other hand, restrictor plate program is the same thing. We are super excited that we have the speed back in our cars. We had good speed here in February and Talladega was a bit of an unknown as to why we weren’t as fast there but we have our speed back here again. We feel good about our restrictor plate program and our downforce program has come a long way. It isn’t as good as our restrictor plate program is right now but we have come a long way and we have a little more to go and we know that.”


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – Coke Zero 400 Powered by Coca-Cola

Daytona International Speedway

Daytona Beach, Florida

Friday, July 01, 2016

  1. (16)  Greg Biffle, Ford, 192.955 mph.
  2. (19)  Carl Edwards, Toyota, 192.748 mph.
  3. (18)  Kyle Busch, Toyota, 192.336 mph.
  4. (17)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 192.320 mph.
  5. (2)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, 192.254 mph.
  6. (3)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 192.254 mph.
  7. (20)  Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 192.234 mph.
  8. (48)  Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 192.160 mph.
  9. (11)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 191.975 mph.
  10. (41)  Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 191.865 mph.
  11. (22)  Joey Logano, Ford, 191.400 mph.
  12. (21)  Ryan Blaney #, Ford, 191.253 mph.
  13. (6)  Trevor Bayne, Ford, 191.192 mph.
  14. (43)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 191.115 mph.
  15. (78)  Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, 191.103 mph.
  16. (88)  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 191.071 mph.
  17. (42)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 190.933 mph.
  18. (5)  Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 190.783 mph.
  19. (14)  Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 190.670 mph.
  20. (13)  Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 190.476 mph.
  21. (4)  Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 190.444 mph.
  22. (10)  Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 190.440 mph.
  23. (31)  Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 190.375 mph.
  24. (24)  Chase Elliott #, Chevrolet, 190.359 mph.
  25. (34)  Chris Buescher #, Ford, 190.275 mph.
  26. (47)  AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 189.877 mph.
  27. (27)  Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 189.693 mph.
  28. (35)  David Gilliland, Ford, 189.470 mph.
  29. (1)  Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 189.211 mph.
  30. (44)  Brian Scott #, Ford, 188.964 mph.
  31. (15)  Clint Bowyer, Chevrolet, 188.727 mph.
  32. (32)  Bobby Labonte, Ford, 188.391 mph.
  33. (46)  Michael Annett, Chevrolet, 188.344 mph.
  34. (38)  Landon Cassill, Ford, 188.249 mph.
  35. (98)  Cole Whitt, Toyota, 187.629 mph.
  36. (83)  Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, 187.563 mph.
  37. (95)  Michael McDowell, Chevrolet, 187.480 mph.
  38. (23)  David Ragan, Toyota, 187.426 mph.
  39. (55)  Reed Sorenson, Toyota, 187.025 mph.
  40. (7)  Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 0.000 mph.

1 drivers failed to qualify.

  1. (30)  Josh Wise, Chevrolet, 184.106 mph.
| , RacinToday.com Friday, July 1 2016
No Comment

Comments are closed.