Castroneves On Pole At Long Beach

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 16 2016
Helio Castroneves won the pole in Long Beach on Saturday.

Helio Castroneves won the pole in Long Beach on Saturday.


Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves won the pole for the Grand Prix of Long Beach for the second consecutive year on Saturday.

It is the three-time Indianapolis 500 winner’s 47th career pole, his third pole at Long Beach and his second of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season – His first of the year came at Phoenix International Raceway on April 1.

Castroneves won the pole with a top lap of 1 minute, 7.1246 seconds (105.547 mph) during today’s Firestone Fast Six qualifications.

“We’ve been good all weekend long,” Castroneves said. “We’ve been working together all weekend long. I would say Team Penske probably had the upper hand. They say it’s better to be lucky than good and we planned very well. Will (Power) was definitely in a league of his own and he seems to be putting out phenomenal laps, but in the end putting on red tires, you saw (Scott) Dixon up there, you saw (Tony) Kanaan up there and Juan Pablo (Montoya) and Simon (Pagenaud), so it was a mix. But, I’ll take it. Definitely thank AAA and the entire Chevy team. They did a phenomenal job. And hey, it’s the right spot to start, so let’s keep it.”

The Fast Six set up a duel between Team Penske and Chip Ganassi Racing.

However with two minutes remaining, the red flag was displayed for Power going off course in Turn 9, setting up a one-timed-lap shootout to determine the winner of the P1 Award.

In the one-lap dash, it was Castroneves again coming out on top with a lap of 1:07.1246

The Brazilian, whose 2015 lap record stands following the day, was followed by Scott Dixon of Ganassi, (1:07.4455), Team Penske’s Pagenaud (1:07.7410), Ganassi’s Tony Kanaan (1:07.7951), Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya (1:07.9054) and Power, whose lap times were forfeited for causing the red flag.

Coverage of Sunday’s 80-lap race on the 1.968-mile temporary street course begins at 4 p.m. ET on NBCSN and the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, where the 21-car field will battle it out on one of the most prestigious street circuits in the world.


| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 16 2016
No Comment

Comments are closed.