Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Dillon On Pole In Fontana

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, March 19 2016


Austin Dillon streaked to the pole in Southern California on Friday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Austin Dillon streaked to the pole in Southern California on Friday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Austin Dillon collected his first Sprint Cup Series poll of the season on Friday, and the second of his career, when he laid down a lap at the 2-mile Auto Club Speedway oval in 38.200 seconds (188.482 mph).

The pole was Dillon’s first since he topped qualifying for the season-opening Daytona 500 in his 2014 rookie season. It was also the first for Richard Childress Racing since then.

“I’m not (just) a Daytona 500 polesitter now—I got a pole somewhere else,” Dillon said. “And to do it at a driver’s race track like this here at Fontana means a lot to me.

“I’m just proud of this American Ethanol team. We’ve had fast cars all year long, and I knew going into that third session, if I didn’t make mistakes I would have a shot. I just stayed with it off of (Turn) 4. … It worked out for us.”

Dillon edged last week’s Phoenix winner, Kevin Harvick (188.329 mph), by .031 seconds. Denny Hamlin qualified third after leading the second round with a track-record run at (188.511 mph), breaking the mark of 188.245 mph set by current Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch in 2005.

Conserving his equipment for the final run, Dillon adhered to a blueprint devised by his engineers.

“We wanted to be from 13th to 24th in that first (round),” Dillon said. “We were 13th (tied with Kyle busch) on the front side of that.  On the second run I was a little tight. We just kept freeing the car up a little bit there to help ourselves in that third run and it all worked out.”

Dillon was asked about turning his second pole into his first victory.

“Well, obviously you see right there that we have a car that has some speed to it,” he said. “Now we’ve got to see how far we can go with our car as far as lap speed into a run.  I’m very confident in my guys that they will give me something to work with, they already have and the speed is there.  Just focus on running that wall because that is where the race is going to be at I think in the long run, everybody is going to be running right by the wall.  We will practice a lot up there and see if we can get our car to work on the bottom for a few laps then move all the way up.”


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – Auto Club 400

Auto Club Speedway

Fontana, California

Friday, March 18, 2016

  1. (3)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 188.482 mph.
  2. (4)  Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 188.329 mph.
  3. (11)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 187.637 mph.
  4. (31)  Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 187.276 mph.
  5. (19)  Carl Edwards, Toyota, 187.222 mph.
  6. (18)  Kyle Busch, Toyota, 187.212 mph.
  7. (6)  Trevor Bayne, Ford, 186.916 mph.
  8. (24)  Chase Elliott #, Chevrolet, 186.795 mph.
  9. (22)  Joey Logano, Ford, 186.557 mph.
  10. (1)  Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 186.345 mph.
  11. (47)  AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 185.687 mph.
  12. (5)  Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 187.642 mph.
  13. (27)  Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 187.495 mph.
  14. (21)  Ryan Blaney #, Ford, 187.480 mph.
  15. (2)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, 187.232 mph.
  16. (34)  Chris Buescher #, Ford, 187.154 mph.
  17. (78)  Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, 187.028 mph.
  18. (17)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 186.528 mph.
  19. (48)  Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 186.297 mph.
  20. (20)  Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 186.268 mph.
  21. (44)  Brian Scott #, Ford, 186.176 mph.
  22. (16)  Greg Biffle, Ford, 186.075 mph.
  23. (13)  Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 185.773 mph.
  24. (14)  Brian Vickers, Chevrolet, 185.581 mph.
  25. (43)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 186.398 mph.
  26. (41)  Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 186.095 mph.
  27. (88)  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 186.080 mph.
  28. (7)  Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 185.696 mph.
  29. (15)  Clint Bowyer, Chevrolet, 185.639 mph.
  30. (95)  Michael McDowell, Chevrolet, 185.486 mph.
  31. (10)  Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 185.099 mph.
  32. (42)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 184.990 mph.
  33. (83)  Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, 184.611 mph.
  34. (38)  Landon Cassill, Ford, 184.186 mph.
  35. (23)  David Ragan, Toyota, 183.052 mph.
  36. (98)  Cole Whitt, Chevrolet, 182.348 mph.
  37. (30)  Josh Wise, Chevrolet, 181.951 mph.
  38. (46)  Michael Annett, Chevrolet, 180.610 mph.
  39. (32)  Jeffrey Earnhardt #, Ford, 180.415 mph.
| , RacinToday.com Saturday, March 19 2016
No Comment

Comments are closed.