Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Keselowski On Pole At Texas

| , RacinToday.com Friday, November 6 2015
Brad Keselowski won the pole at Texas on Friday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Brad Keselowski won the pole at Texas on Friday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)


Chase driver Brad Keselowski won the pole for Sunday’s Sprint Cup race at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday evening.

Keselowski won the pole and pick of pit stalls with a lap at 196.929 mph.

“This is a good start but our ultimate goal is to be the fastest at the end of the race on Sunday,” he said. “It is a good start and it gets us up front with a great pit stall and hopefully we can make the most of it. I am pumped about this race. Track position is important everywhere and here isn’t as much as maybe a few others because the track wears out and you see some comers and goers with the way the track wears out but we will still take it.”

Sharing the front row with the Team Penske driver was Chaser Kevin Harvick of  Stewart-Haas Racing. The defending champion had a fast lap at 195.993 mph.

Our team did a great job in keeping up with the changes that we needed throughout the three rounds and we were able to keep it pretty consistent,” Harvick said. “I got my entry a little bit screwed up into (Turn) 3 that time and got it pointed the wrong direction in the middle of the corner and then I had to put a wheel in it and got it cocked sideways and scrubbed some speed.  All-in-all just a continuous improvement throughout the rounds and wound up being pretty good.”

Chasers Kyle Busch and Joey Logano were third and fourth respectively in qualifying.

Keselowski was asked about the importance of the Texas race.

“Yeah. I think if you are not in the top five right now you are in a must win situation,” he said. “Thankfully we started out in the right situation with being fast. We feel like we will be really strong next week at Phoenix as well. All signs point to us having a very strong opportunity to win at least one of the next two. In reality, we know we will probably need to win two of the next three to win the championship. We have that opportunity and there is no reason to focus on what we don’t have which is the ability to finish consistent and make it to the next round. I would rather spend time focusing on what we do have, the opportunity to win two of the next three and win a championship.”

(This story will be updated shortly)

 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – AAA Texas 500

Texas Motor Speedway

Fort Worth, Texas

Friday, November 06, 2015

  1. (2)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, 196.929 mph.
  2. (4)  Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 195.993 mph.
  3. (18)  Kyle Busch, Toyota, 195.716 mph.
  4. (22)  Joey Logano, Ford, 195.419 mph.
  5. (42)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 195.341 mph.
  6. (20)  Erik Jones(i), Toyota, 195.298 mph.
  7. (41)  Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 194.988 mph.
  8. (48)  Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 194.890 mph.
  9. (11)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 194.665 mph.
  10. (88)  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 194.475 mph.
  11. (10)  Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 193.313 mph.
  12. (16)  Greg Biffle, Ford, 190.402 mph.
  13. (19)  Carl Edwards, Toyota, 195.341 mph.
  14. (15)  Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 195.327 mph.
  15. (55)  David Ragan, Toyota, 195.178 mph.
  16. (5)  Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 195.143 mph.
  17. (13)  Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 194.819 mph.
  18. (24)  Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 194.637 mph.
  19. (31)  Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 194.560 mph.
  20. (27)  Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 194.175 mph.
  21. (33)  Brian Scott(i), Chevrolet, 194.175 mph.
  22. (14)  Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 194.112 mph.
  23. (78)  Martin Truex Jr., Chevrolet, 194.000 mph.
  24. (43)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 193.666 mph.
  25. (21)  Ryan Blaney(i), Ford, 195.525 mph.
  26. (3)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 195.496 mph.
  27. (1)  Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 195.334 mph.
  28. (17)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 195.157 mph.
  29. (6)  Trevor Bayne, Ford, 195.143 mph.
  30. (47)  AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 194.735 mph.
  31. (7)  Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, 194.644 mph.
  32. (9)  Sam Hornish Jr., Ford, 194.623 mph.
  33. (95)  Michael McDowell, Ford, 193.472 mph.
  34. (26)  JJ Yeley(i), Toyota, 192.940 mph.
  35. (34)  Brett Moffitt #, Ford, 192.651 mph.
  36. (40)  Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 192.445 mph.
  37. (46)  Michael Annett, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  38. (83)  Matt DiBenedetto #, Toyota, Owner Points
  39. (35)  Cole Whitt, Ford, Owner Points
  40. (23)  Jeb Burton #, Toyota, Owner Points
  41. (38)  David Gilliland, Ford, Owner Points
  42. (98)  Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  43. (51)  Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, Owner Points

2 drivers failed to qualify.

  1. (32)  Joey Gase(i), Ford, 190.617 mph.
  2. (62)  Reed Sorenson, Toyota, 187.865 mph.





| , RacinToday.com Friday, November 6 2015
No Comment

Comments are closed.