Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Edwards Claims Pole In Loudon

| , RacinToday.com Friday, September 25 2015
Car Edwards will go after a victory Sunday in New Hampshire from the pole position. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Andrew Coppley)

Car Edwards will go after a victory Sunday in New Hampshire from the pole position.
(RacinToday/HHP file photo by Andrew Coppley)


Carl Edwards won the pole for Sunday’s Sprint Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Friday afternoon.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver’s pole-winning lap came at 137.980 mph and in 27.604 seconds at the New Hampshire mile oval.

Edwards is on of the 16 drivers competing in the 10-race Chase playoffs, the second of which is this weekend in Loudon. He has two victories in 2015, the last being the Southern 500 at Darlington.

He will start Sunday’s race third in points – three behind leader/teammate Carl Edwards and one behind second place/teammate Denny Hamlin.

Second fastest in the three-session qualifying format was Kevin Harvick of Stewart-Haas Racing. Harvick, who crashed and finished 42nd in last weekend’s Chase-opener at Chicagoland Speedway, had a quick lap at 137.845 mph and 27.631 seconds.

“We knew qualifying here would be important. I’m starting to really enjoy coming to New Hampshire,” said Edwards, joining Hamlin as the only two of JGR’s four drivers to make it to the final round of qualifying. All four qualified inside the top-10 in July.

“The third round surprised me how fast we were, but I think that’s just a testament to how fast the car is.”

Harvick said, “There’s a fine line between being aggressive and not being aggressive enough (in qualifying). I think I just left a little out there today.”

Harvick, who led the point standings in the regular season, sits 15th in points after a 42nd-place finish the first Chase race (the top 12 advance to the Contender Round). “We don’t let circumstances bother us. We just come to each different racetrack with a plan and that’s what we’re going to do here this weekend.”

Third was Kurt Busch, Harvick’s teammate.

Fourth was Brad Keselowski of Team Penske while Jimmie Johnson of Hendrick Motorsports – who was involved in the wreck with Harvick last weekend – was fifth.

“I feel like we’re in a good spot,” Keselowski said. “I just wish it was three spots higher, but it’s something to be proud of.”

All of the top-five in qualifying Friday were Chase participants.

Other Chase competitors will start as follows: Matt Kenseth, 13th; Kyle Busch, 17th; Paul Menard, 20th; Martin Truex Jr., 21st; Jamie McMurray, 23rd and Clint Bowyer, 26th. Bowyer was the only Chase driver who failed to advance past the first round.

(This story will be updated shortly)

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – Sylvania 300

New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Loudon, New Hampshire

Friday, September 25, 2015

  1. (19)  Carl Edwards, Toyota, 137.980 mph.
  2. (4)  Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 137.845 mph.
  3. (41)  Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 137.800 mph.
  4. (2)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, 137.671 mph.
  5. (48)  Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 137.621 mph.
  6. (42)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 137.517 mph.
  7. (11)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 137.457 mph.
  8. (22)  Joey Logano, Ford, 137.378 mph.
  9. (31)  Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 137.022 mph.
  10. (24)  Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 136.580 mph.
  11. (88)  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 136.560 mph.
  12. (5)  Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 136.365 mph.
  13. (20)  Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 136.943 mph.
  14. (17)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 136.825 mph.
  15. (43)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 136.697 mph.
  16. (3)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 136.516 mph.
  17. (18)  Kyle Busch, Toyota, 136.409 mph.
  18. (55)  David Ragan, Toyota, 136.360 mph.
  19. (13)  Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 136.306 mph.
  20. (27)  Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 136.082 mph.
  21. (78)  Martin Truex Jr., Chevrolet, 136.048 mph.
  22. (10)  Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 135.951 mph.
  23. (1)  Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 135.516 mph.
  24. (51)  Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 135.333 mph.
  25. (16)  Greg Biffle, Ford, 135.796 mph.
  26. (15)  Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 135.772 mph.
  27. (14)  Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 135.651 mph.
  28. (35)  Cole Whitt, Ford, 135.607 mph.
  29. (9)  Sam Hornish Jr., Ford, 135.554 mph.
  30. (47)  AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 135.448 mph.
  31. (34)  Brett Moffitt #, Ford, 135.333 mph.
  32. (40)  Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 135.121 mph.
  33. (6)  Trevor Bayne, Ford, 135.021 mph.
  34. (38)  David Gilliland, Ford, 134.620 mph.
  35. (83)  Matt DiBenedetto #, Toyota, 134.411 mph.
  36. (7)  Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, 134.292 mph.
  37. (98)  Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  38. (46)  Michael Annett, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  39. (33)  BJ McLeod(i), Chevrolet, Owner Points
  40. (26)  Josh Wise, Toyota, Owner Points
  41. (23)  Jeb Burton #, Toyota, Owner Points
  42. (32)  Jeffrey Earnhardt(i), Ford, Owner Points
  43. (62)  Timmy Hill(i), Ford, Owner Points

1 driver failed to qualify.

  1. (30)  Travis Kvapil(i), Chevrolet, 132.600 mph.


| , RacinToday.com Friday, September 25 2015
No Comment

Comments are closed.