Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Logano On Pole At RIR; Race Moved To Sunday

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 25 2015
Joey Logano will start Saturday's race in Richmond from P1. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Joey Logano will start Saturday’s race in Richmond from P1. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)


Team Penske’s Joey Logano on Friday won the pole for Sunday’s Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond International Raceway.

The race was scheduled for Saturday night but postponed by bad weather. The new start time is approximately 1 p.m. Eastern.

Logano took the pole with a lap at 127.071 mph. His time in his fast laps around the .75-mile race track was 21.248 seconds, .046 seconds faster than the effort of second-place qualifier Denny Hamlin (126.796 mph) of Joe Gibbs Racing.

“It was surprising to say the least,” Logano said. “That is the most surprising pole we’ve had I think. Our first run was not stellar by any means. We had to run a third lap to get into the top-24 and the same thing during the second run, we had to run an extra lap. I wasn’t feeling good about the laps we put on our tires. When you are sitting 10th or 11th going into the last session you can swing for the fence because you can only lose one spot. We made a big adjustment to try to find some speed and the guys did a great job with that last adjustment and get it turning and off she went.”

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kurt Busch (126.606 mph) will start third, followed by AJ Allmendinger (126.570 mph) and Kevin Harvick (126.428 mph).

Logano credited the pole win to his crew’s decision to radically loosened the car up.

“When you’re sitting 11th on the board (actually 10th after the second round), you’ve really got only one spot to lose, so we swung at it,” said Logano, who notched his first pole at Richmond and the 11th of his career. “It’s not normal for us. Normally, we’re really fast in the first round, and it’s hard for us to stay that fast throughout it.

“But they did a great job of keeping it fast and getting it faster. It’s fun because you go out and run all these laps. That (pole-winning) lap didn’t actually feel good. You’ve got seven or eight laps on your tires, and you’re sliding around a lot. It’s funny, but the pole-sitting car’s sliding around all over the place on old tires out there.”

Hamlin was fastest in the second session, but tire wear was a factor in his second-place run in the third round.

“Initially,” Hamlin, who missed last weekend’s race in Bristol, Tenn. because of back spasams, said, “I didn’t think that our car after the first round was going to be capable for a pole position, but after the second it looked like our car was pretty good and we just lost a little bit too much grip that final run and came up a little bit short. Still if you would have asked me before the day, I would have taken second and moved on. I think the longer runs typically suit us a little bit better and to have a good starting spot though will definitely be a benefit for us tomorrow night.”

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – Toyota Owners 400

Richmond International Raceway

Richmond, Virginia

Friday, April 24, 2015


  1. (22)  Joey Logano, Ford, 127.071 mph.
  2. (11)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 126.796 mph.
  3. (41)  Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 126.606 mph.
  4. (47)  AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 126.570 mph.
  5. (4)  Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 126.428 mph.
  6. (78)  Martin Truex Jr., Chevrolet, 126.115 mph.
  7. (2)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, 126.027 mph.
  8. (20)  Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 125.821 mph.
  9. (1)  Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 125.587 mph.
  10. (18)  David Ragan, Toyota, 125.471 mph.
  11. (24)  Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 125.348 mph.
  12. (42)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 124.977 mph.
  13. (14)  Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 126.416 mph.
  14. (55)  Brett Moffitt #, Toyota, 126.410 mph.
  15. (27)  Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 126.357 mph.
  16. (25)  Chase Elliott(i), Chevrolet, 126.328 mph.
  17. (15)  Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 126.310 mph.
  18. (19)  Carl Edwards, Toyota, 126.227 mph.
  19. (40)  Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 126.180 mph.
  20. (3)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 126.168 mph.
  21. (10)  Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 125.757 mph.
  22. (51)  Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 125.657 mph.
  23. (31)  Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 125.511 mph.
  24. (17)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 124.960 mph.
  25. (13)  Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 127.310 mph.
  26. (88)  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 127.262 mph.
  27. (43)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 127.071 mph.
  28. (98)  Josh Wise, Ford, 127.053 mph.
  29. (9)  Sam Hornish Jr., Ford, 126.892 mph.
  30. (38)  David Gilliland, Ford, 126.826 mph.
  31. (35)  Cole Whitt, Ford, 126.802 mph.
  32. (16)  Greg Biffle, Ford, 126.695 mph.
  33. (30)  Jeff Green(i), Chevrolet, 126.654 mph.
  34. (6)  Trevor Bayne, Ford, 126.559 mph.
  35. (32)  Joey Gase(i), Ford, 126.541 mph.
  36. (48)  Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 126.517 mph.
  37. (83)  Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, Owner Points
  38. (46)  Michael Annett, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  39. (23)  JJ Yeley(i), Toyota, Owner Points
  40. (5)  Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  41. (7)  Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  42. (33)  Alex Kennedy #, Chevrolet, Owner Points
  43. (34)  Reed Sorenson, Ford, Owner Points


2 drivers failed to qualify.


  1. (26)  Jeb Burton #, Toyota, 125.517 mph.
  2. (62)  Brendan Gaughan(i), Chevrolet, 124.746 mph.


| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 25 2015
No Comment

Comments are closed.