Home » HEADLINE, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Harvick On Brickyard Pole

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 26 2014

Kevin Harvick topped qualifying at Indy on Saturday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Harold Hinson)

Kevin Harvick won the pole on Saturday for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 Sprint Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Harvick put his Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet on the pole with a lap at 47.753 seconds and 188.470 mph. He set a new track record in the first round of the three-round qualifying session with a lap of 47.647 seconds, 188.889 mph.

The previous record of 187.531 mph was held by Ryan Newman.

The record speed of his first lap surprised the driver of the No. 4 SHR Chevrolet.

“After the first lap, I was probably more nervous than I have been in a while for qualifying,” Harvick said. “I wasn’t really expecting to have the car run that fast. From there they are all looking at you, ‘All right, if you screw this up, it’s on you, buddy.’”

This is his 10th pole in 486 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races. This is his fourth pole and 12th top-10 start in 2014.This is his second pole in 14 races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

“After the first lap I was probably more nervous than I have been in a while for qualifying,” Harvick said. “Just wasn’t really expecting to have the car run that fast, and then from there, they’re all looking at you, all right, if you screw this up, it’s on you, buddy. It’s great to have fast cars. They do a great job preparing the cars and just being able to come to the racetrack and know that the car is going to be fast just takes a huge burden off of everybody’s shoulders just to get the balance right.”

Jeff Gordon qualified second fastest, posting his 11th top-10 start of 2014 and his 12th in 21 races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

‘I feel extremely good, excited about it,” Gordon, the winner of the first Cup race at Indy in 1994, said. “I was in here yesterday and talking about how good our race team is and how good I thought our race car was going to be, and today kind of proves that. I mean, Kevin was certainly very, very quick, and it was nice to close that gap a little bit on him that third session, but I feel very confident about this weekend. Starting on the front row is an excellent place to start. Track position is extremely important, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the efforts that we had today and in that qualifying session to get us that front row start.”

Brad Keselowski was third, posted his second top-10 start at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It is his 15th in 20 races this season.

Kyle Larson (15th) was the fastest qualifying rookie.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying – Crown Royal Presents, the John Wayne Walding 400 at The Brickyard

Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Speedway, Indiana

Saturday, July 26, 2014

1. (4) Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 188.470 mph.

2. (24) Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 187.770 mph.

3. (2) Brad Keselowski, Ford, 186.893 mph.

4. (31) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 186.765 mph.

5. (55) Brian Vickers, Toyota, 186.455 mph.

6. (14) Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 186.193 mph.

7. (41) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 185.943 mph.

8. (12) Juan Pablo Montoya, Ford, 185.924 mph.

9. (22) Joey Logano, Ford, 185.828 mph.

10. (5) Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 185.705 mph.

11. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 185.468 mph.

12. (18) Kyle Busch, Toyota, 184.991 mph.

13. (20) Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 185.468 mph.

14. (10) Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 185.391 mph.

15. (42) Kyle Larson #, Chevrolet, 185.254 mph.

16. (15) Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 185.128 mph.

17. (3) Austin Dillon #, Chevrolet, 185.048 mph.

18. (99) Carl Edwards, Ford, 184.991 mph.

19. (16) Greg Biffle, Ford, 184.900 mph.

20. (21) Trevor Bayne(i), Ford, 184.869 mph.

21. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 184.740 mph.

22. (9) Marcos Ambrose, Ford, 184.426 mph.

23. (88) Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 183.887 mph.

24. (1) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 183.610 mph.

25. (78) Martin Truex Jr., Chevrolet, 184.449 mph.

26. (13) Casey Mears, Chevrolet, 183.726 mph.

27. (11) Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 183.692 mph.

28. (95) Michael McDowell, Ford, 183.565 mph.

29. (27) Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 183.539 mph.

30. (98) Josh Wise, Chevrolet, 182.867 mph.

31. (51) Justin Allgaier #, Chevrolet, 182.656 mph.

32. (83) Ryan Truex #, Toyota, 182.574 mph.

33. (7) Michael Annett #, Chevrolet, 182.245 mph.

34. (38) David Gilliland, Ford, 182.072 mph.

35. (23) Alex Bowman #, Toyota, 181.866 mph.

36. (47) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 181.815 mph.

37. (40) Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, Owner Points

38. (34) David Ragan, Ford, Owner Points

39. (26) Cole Whitt #, Toyota, Owner Points

40. (32) Travis Kvapil, Ford, Owner Points

41. (43) Aric Almirola, Ford, Owner Points

42. (36) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, Owner Points

43. (37) Bobby Labonte, Chevrolet, Past Champion

3 drivers failed to qualify.

44. (66) Brett Moffitt, Toyota, 181.335 mph.

45. (33) David Stremme, Chevrolet, 179.548 mph.

46. (29) Matt Crafton(i), Toyota, 178.070 mph.

(This story will be updated shortly)

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 26 2014
No Comment

Comments are closed.