Hunter-Reay Named 2nd-Quarter DOTY Winner

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, July 23 2014

2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay collected another award on Wednesday. (Photo courtesy of INDYCAR)


Ryan Hunter-Reay was named winner of the Driver of the Year Award for the second quarter of the 2014 racing season on Wednesday.

The 2012 Verizon IndyCar series champion and this year’s Indianapolis 500 winner, won the award by way of a vote conducted among an elite panel of American broadcasters and journalists

Hunter-Reay, 33, won the 500 in his seventh attempt. The Florida resident also won the Honda Indy Grand Prix in Alabama and was runner-up in the inaugural Indianapolis Grand Prix in the second quarter which ended at the at Pocono IndyCar 500 on July 6th.

“Seems like the good news keeps rolling in after winning the Indy 500,” Hunter-Reay said. “It is a tremendous honor to be named the second-quarter Driver Of The Year.  I want to thank the panel members made up of the top journalists in motorsports who voted for me.  I believe this is a testament to IndyCar’s continued growth and momentum.  This also speaks volumes as to what a phenomenal race this year’s Indy 500 really was.  It is being called one of the best finishes in history, and from the driver’s seat, I couldn’t agree more.”

Barry Schmoyer, president of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Ryan’s story of a driver who never gives up is a the prototypical American success story. Watching his career and his triumphs makes him a great role model.”

In the voting, Hunter-Reay, who drives the No. 28 DHL Dallara-Honda for Andretti Autosport, had eight first- place ballots and totaled 102 points under the DOTY’s point system.

Jimmie Johnson, who drives the No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet SS in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series, garnered six first-place votes and totaled 84 points. Antron Brown, who drives the Matco Tools Top Fuel dragster in the NHRA ,was third in the balloting with 45 points.

NASCAR’s Brad Keselowski, who finished fourth in the voting, also received one first place vote.

Hunter-Reay’s team owner, Michael Andretti, won the overall DOTY title in 1991 in an Indy car. Michael’s father, Mario, was the inaugural DOTY winner in 1967. He also won in 1978 and 1984.

A total of 20 drivers scored points in the second-quarter voting.

In its’ 48th year, the DOTY Award is unique. A panel of 17 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. determines the winner. Two panelists didn’t vote this time. RacinToday.com staff members Mike Harris, John Sturbin and Jim Pedley are panel members.

In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.

Hunter-Reay will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented later.

Further information on the award may be obtained from DOTY Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email: barrydoty@yahoo.com.

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, July 23 2014
No Comment

Comments are closed.