Carpenter Leads Fast Nine At Indy 500 Qualifying

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, May 17 2014

Ed Carpenter was fastest of the Fast Nine at Indy on Saturday. (INDYCAR/LAT USA file photo)


Ed Carpenter, the pole winner for last year’s Indianapolis 500, had the fastest four-lap run in Saturday’s first round of qualifying for this year’s event.

Carpenter, an Indiana native, will lead the nine drivers who had the fastest qualifying runs on Saturday, into Sunday’s run for the pole.

Making the day even sweeter for team owner Carpenter was the fact that JR Hildebrand put the second Ed Carpenter Racing entry in the Fast Nine Shootout. The driver of the No. 21 Preferred Freezer Chevrolet ran the ninth quickest average at 230.027 mph.

“Yeah I was hoping to only have to do that once today,” Carpenter said, “but as it turned out we needed to do it twice just to have some security. Really happy both of our cars made it in. I think it was an exciting day to have five different teams represented in the top nine. More than probably what I expected going into today. I thank the speedway and the series it should be exciting.”

Qualifying concludes Sunday, May 18 with another qualifying session to determine final starting positions, and culminating with the Fast Nine Shootout to determine the pole sitter. Tomorrow’s qualifying to determine the pole and the final grid positions begins at 10:15 a.m. ET and will also be broadcast live on ABC from 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.

“Personally I’ve been in every shoot out,” Carpenter said, “but one since they started the shootouts. I have fun with it. I mean everyone is out there you have one shot at it. For the most part we all get along all the drivers. It’s a good time. It’s one and done you’ve got to nail it and it’s more pressure a day like today when you go do a run and for me I was the fifth car out and sat around all day. Thought we were probably going to be okay and then it’s like ‘oh crap the track is getting faster we are going to have to probably make another run’. I’m glad we made another run I think it helped us be better prepared for tomorrow because like I said we only get one shot at it. We’ve got to get it right. The engineers have got to get it right and that is what we did last year so we will see if we can put both of us up front.”

The qualifying format for Sunday:

Group 1:

All Saturday times are erased and positions 10-33 will re-qualify to determine starting position.

Order will be the reverse of Saturday’s rankings.

Lineup will be determined based on fastest four-lap averages.

In the event that there are only 33 cars entered, this group will determine positions 10-33.

Group 2:

The top nine cars will run in reverse order based on Saturday’s times.

All cars will make one attempt.

At the end of the session, the cars are ranked 1-9 based on their four-lap average during the segment to run the Fast Nine Shootout

The 2014 Indianapolis 500 will be the 98th running of the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” It has been held every year since the first race in 1911 except the war years of 1917-1918 and 1942-1945. The race will take place May 25, 2014, and will be broadcast live on ABC beginning at 11 a.m. (ET).

Results of qualifying Saturday for the 98th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with Rank, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, time and speed in parentheses:

1. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 02:36.0735 (230.661)

2. (34) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.2090 (230.460)

3. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 02:36.2286 (230.432)

4. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.2452 (230.407)

5. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 02:36.3022 (230.323)

6. (25) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.4306 (230.134)

7. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.4741 (230.070)

8. (67) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.4993 (230.033)

9. (21) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Chevy, 02:36.5032 (230.027)

10. (26) Kurt Busch, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.5493 (229.960)

11. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.5904 (229.899)

12. (98) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.6471 (229.816)

13. (2) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 02:36.6681 (229.785)

14. (19) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 02:36.7821 (229.618)

15. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.0111 (229.283)

16. (7) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.1426 (229.091)

17. (8) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.3252 (228.825)

18. (14) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.3522 (228.786)

19. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.4043 (228.710)

20. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.4364 (228.664)

21. (22) Sage Karam, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.4460 (228.650)

22. (6) Townsend Bell, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.5435 (228.508)

23. (10) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.5944 (228.435)

24. (11) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.6265 (228.388)

25. (63) Pippa Mann, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.6474 (228.358)

26. (17) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.6917 (228.294)

27. (5) Jacques Villeneuve, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.7766 (228.171)

28. (33) James Davison, Dallara-Chevy, 02:37.7912 (228.150)

29. (16) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.8713 (228.034)

30. (18) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 02:37.9011 (227.991)

31. (68) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 02:38.0246 (227.813)

32. (41) Martin Plowman, Dallara-Honda, 02:38.5601 (227.043)

33. (91) Buddy Lazier, Dallara-Chevy, 02:38.9102 (226.543)

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, May 17 2014
No Comment

Comments are closed.