Home » HEADLINE, Short Track

Jones Wins Snowball After Elliott Fails Inspection

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, December 8 2013

Chase Elliott was stripped of Snowball Derby victory. (File photo courtesy of Cindy Elliott)

Erik Jones won the Snowball Derby at Five Flags Speedway on Sunday in Georgia.

Jones’ victory came after Chase Elliott, who was originally credited with the victory, was disqualified after his car failed post race inspection.

The victory was the second straight for Jones in the Snowball.

Grant Enfinger finished second, followed by Austin Theriault , Hunter Robbins and John Hunter Nemechek.

David Rogers, Kyle Benjamin, Ross Kenseth, Derek Thorn and Donnie Wilson completed the top-10.

Elliott dominated the race, leading more than 230 laps of the 300-lap event. His No. 9 Chevrolet was discovered to have tungsten, a prohibited type of weight. Race officials say the rule is designed to keep costs down.

2013 Snowball Derby Results

1. Erik Jones

2. Grant Enfinger

3. Austin Theriault

4. Hunter Robbins

5. John Hunter Nemechek

6. David Rogers

7. Kyle Benjamin

8. Ross Kenseth

9. Derek Thorn

10.Donnie Wilson

11.Landon Cassill

12.Ben Kennedy

13.Chad Finley

14.Cale Gale

15.Casey Smith

16.Johanna Long

17.Paul Shafer, Jr.

18.Jeremy Pate

19.Clay Rogers

20.Daniel Hemric

21.Stephen Nasse

22.Josh Hamner

23.Mason Massey

24.Spencer Davis

25.Anderson Bowen

26.Logan Boyett

27.Zac Hausler

28.David Ragan

29.Mason Mingus

30.Bubba Pollard

31.Preston Peltier

32.Chris Davidson

33.T.J. Reaid

34.Boris Jurkovic

35.Mike Garvey

36.Augie Grill

DQ Chase Elliott

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, December 8 2013
No Comment