Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

NASCAR’s Kyle Busch Wins Third-Quarter DOTY Award

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, September 25 2013

Kyle Busch led the field in Driver of the Year third-quarter voting. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Christa L Thomas)


NASCAR’s Kyle Busch has been voted the third-quarter winner of the Driver of the Year award it was announced Wednesday.

Busch, 28, was a winner in all three of NASCAR’s top national series over the summer. He had two wins in the Sprint Cup, three in Nationwide and one in Camping World Trucks.

He beat out sprint car driver Donny Schatz for the award, which is voted upon by a panel of American journalists and broadcasters.

“We’ve had a great year so far in all three series,” Busch said. “The guys at both Joe Gibbs Racing and (Kyle Busch Motorsports in the truck series) have given me great cars to drive and we’ve been able to bring home some great wins because of it.”

Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Kyle Busch is a truly a favorite in any series he chooses to race. I’ve watched him for his entire career and it’s hard to believe that he’s only 28 years old.”

Busch, who drives the No. 18 M&Ms/Interstate Battery Toyota Camry for JGR, had eight first-place ballots and totaled 124 points according to the DOTY points system.

Schatz, who is a regular in the World of Outlaws series, earned seven first-place votes and totaled 110 points.

New Zealand’s Scott Dixon, driver of the Target IndyCar for Chip Ganassi Racing, attracted two first-place votes and totaled 89 points. Also from the IndyCar series, France’s Sebastien Bourdais received one first-place vote.

A total of 18 drivers scored points in the first-quarter voting.

In its’ 47th year, the DOTY award is unique. The panel of 18 voters determines the winner of quarterly awards and then an overall winner following the season. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Busch will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch.

“I know everyone will continue to work hard during the last part of the year to bring home more wins,” Busch said. “In particular, myself, Dave (Rogers, crew chief) and the all the guys are really focused on doing all we can to bring home a Sprint Cup championship for M&M’s, Interstate Batteries, and Toyota.”

More information on the award may be obtained from Driver of the Year Foundation at PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Fla., 34230, by calling 941 379-2318, or by emailing barrydoty@yahoo.com.

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, September 25 2013
No Comment

Comments are closed.