Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year

Cup’s Johnson Adds DOTY To His Award Pile

| , Tuesday, August 13 2013

Jimmie Johnson had a winning second quarter of racing. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Leading his series’ points standings and tied for its lead in race victories, NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Jimmie Johnson has been elected the second-quarter winner of the Driver of the Year Award.

The five-time Cup champion tallied more than twice the points of his nearest challenger in the quarterly voting by an elite panel of American broadcasters and journalists.

Johnson bookended the period – May 18 to July 7, which coincided with the Sprint All-Star race at Charlotte Motor Speedway and ended with the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona – with victories.

Johnson said he appreciated the media’s acknowledgement of his achievement by voting him the second-quarter DOTY winner.

“It’s always nice to be recognized for the work we do,” said Johnson.  “The No. 48 Lowe’s crew has been performing every week and we have had some big wins including the All-Star race. I’m proud of the work our entire team has put in and it’s showing on the track.”

Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “if you looked up the definition of champion, on and off the track, you’d find Jimmie Johnson there. His drive for six titles certainly picked up speed as the summer season began.”

In the voting, the 37-year old Johnson, who drives a Chevrolet SS for Hendrick Motorsports, had 14 first-place ballots and totaled 147 points under the DOTY points system.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, who drives the DHL Dallara/Chevrolet for Andretti Autosport in the IndyCar series, had one first-place vote and tallied 65 points.

Tony Kanaan, the Indianapolis 500 winner who drives for KV Racing Technology, finished third with two first-place votes and 64 points. NASCAR driver, Matt Kenseth, winner of the first quarter DOTY this season, also had one first-place vote.

A total of 23 drivers scored points in the second quarter voting.

In its’ 47th year, the Driver of the Year title is unique. The panel of 18 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. – including’s John Sturbin, Mike Harris and Jim Pedley – determines the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Johnson will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented during an upcoming race weekend.

Information on the award may be obtained from Driver of the Year Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email:

| , Tuesday, August 13 2013
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti