Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year, HEADLINE, INDYCAR

Hunter-Reay Wins Third Quarter DOTY Award

| , Monday, September 24 2012

Ryan Hunter-Reay was third-quarter winner of the Driver of the Year Award. (INDYCAR/LAT USA)

Recently crowned 2012 IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay has been named recipient of the Driver of the Year Award for the third quarter of the 2012 season.

Hunter-Reay, who drives for Andretti Autosport, beat NASCAR’s Brad Keselowski in the voting.

The panel of 21 broadcasters and journalists gave 10 first-place votes to Hunter-Reay, who totaled 138-points. Keselowski received six first-place votes and totaled 105-points. Two panel members did not vote in the third quarter.

In the third quarter, the Texas-born Hunter-Reay, had wins at Toronto and Baltimore.

“I’m honored to have been voted Driver of the Year for the third quarter,” Hunter-Reay said. “With every driver that races on four wheels in America being eligible, it’s humbling to know that the media voted for me.”

Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “while the voting is open to all drivers racing in the U.S., there’s a certain pride that an American has won the IndyCar title for the first time since Sam Hornish accomplished it in 2006.”

Erica Enders, an NHRA Pro Stock driver, was third in the points and garnered two first-place votes and 55 points. Antron Brown, who races in the NHRA’s Top Fuel division, was fourth with 39 points.

Denny Hamlin, the only other driver to receive a first-place vote, was fifth with 34 points.

A total of 18 drivers scored points in the third quarter voting.

In its’ 46th year, the Driver of the Year Award, is unique. The panel of journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. determines the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Hunter-Reay will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a time and place to be determined.

“I have to thank my crew and everyone at DHL, Sun Drop and Chevy for all their support – this year just gets better and better,” Hunter-Reay added.

Further information on the award may be obtained from Driver of the Year Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email:

| , Monday, September 24 2012
One Comment

One Comment »


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti