Power On Pole In Baltimore

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, September 1 2012

Will Power will start Sunday's IndyCar race from the pole in Baltimore. (INDYCAR/LAT USA file photo)


IndyCar Series championship points leader Will Power earned the pole for the Grand Prix of Baltimore for the second consecutive year, and with the bonus point takes a 37-point lead over Ryan Hunter-Reay into the penultimate race of the season.

Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, posted a series track-qualifying record lap of 1 minute, 17.5921 seconds on the 2.04-mile, 13-turn temporary street circuit in the second of three rounds. He topped the Firestone Fast Six shootout with a lap of 1:17.9750.

Hunter-Reay, driving the No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda car for Andretti Autosport, qualified 13th. He was seventh on the time sheet when a red flag for a contact ended the 15-minute first-round session early, and only the top six advance to the next round.

“Starting from the pole it is a lot easier to control your own destiny,” said Power, who claimed his fifth pole of the season. “We’ll focus on the job at hand and think about this race and doing the best we can – the best I can and the best that the team can. Over the last few weeks we’ve done what we needed to do and we want to continue.

“This track is physical, but it is the same for everyone. It’s going to be a good show for the Baltimore fans and we’ll be plenty busy in the cars. We’ll be looking forward not back, that’s for sure.”

Mike Conway qualified a season-high second in the No. 14 ABC Supply car for A.J. Foyt Racing, but he’ll incur a 10-grid spot penalty for an unapproved Honda engine change. Scott Dixon, who will make his 200th Indy car start, qualified third in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car and Sebastien Bourdais advanced to the Firestone Fast Six for the second consecutive race and qualified fourth in the No. 7 TrueCar Dragon Racing car.

Four-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti, driving the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, and James Hinchcliffe in the No. 27 Team GoDaddy.com car also reached the Firestone Fast Six.

Also on the street circuit, Tristan Vautier claimed the pole for the Firestone Indy Lights Grand Prix of Baltimore.

All three of Vautier’s victories have come from the pole, and that’s exactly what he needs again in the penultimate race of the season. Vautier moved to six points of series championship front-runner Esteban Guerrieri by earning a bonus point for his fifth Sunoco Pole Award with a qualifying track-record lap of 1 minute, 23.6893 seconds.

Qualifying Saturday for the Grand Prix of Baltimore IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 2.04 mile(s) Baltimore Street Circuit, with starting position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, time and speed in parentheses:

1. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 01:17.9750 (94.184)

2. (14) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 01:18.5509 (93.494)

3. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 01:18.6017 (93.433)

4. (7) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 01:18.8500 (93.139)

5. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 01:18.9398 (93.033)

6. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevy, 01:19.3101 (92.599)

7. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 01:19.3347 (92.570)

8. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 01:19.6788 (92.170)

9. (18) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 01:20.3559 (91.393)

10. (67) Bruno Junqueira, Dallara-Honda, 01:20.3826 (91.363)

11. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 01:20.4968 (91.233)

12. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, No Time (No Speed)

13. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevy, 01:21.7113 (89.877)

14. (2) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 01:18.8872 (93.095)

15. (98) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 01:22.2657 (89.272)

16. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 01:18.9533 (93.017)

17. (8) Rubens Barrichello, Dallara-Chevy, 01:22.7851 (88.712)

18. (22) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Chevy, 01:19.3365 (92.568)

19. (15) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 01:24.5395 (86.871)

20. (26) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevy, 01:19.4192 (92.471)

21. (78) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Lotus, 01:27.2226 (84.198)

22. (19) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 01:19.5496 (92.320)

23. (38) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, No Time (No Speed)

24. (5) EJ Viso, Dallara-Chevy, 01:19.8631 (91.957)

25. (4) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Chevy, No Time (No Speed)

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, September 1 2012
No Comment

Comments are closed.