Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year, INDYCAR, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series, NHRA

Sprint Cup’s Jimmie Johnson Wins Second-Quarter DOTY

| , Wednesday, July 18 2012

Jimmie Johnson was named the winner of the second quarter Driver of The Year Award on Wednesday. (RacinToday/HHP file photo by Alan Marler)

Jimmie Johnson on Wednesday was named the Driver of  The Year Award winner for the second quarter of 2012 racing season.

The award, which was voted upon by an elite panel of 18 broadcasters and journalists, covered racing in American-based series during the period running from April 22nd to July 1st.

Johnson, the five-time Sprint Cup Series champion, had two NASCAR points-race wins (at Darlington and Dover) and a non-points victory in the annual Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway during the quarter.

Johnson, the only four-time winner of the annual year-ending Driver of The Year Award, was a happy quarterly winner after learning of his selection.

“It’s been awhile since I’ve had one of these, I’m excited,” Johnson said. “Especially (considering) how well Ryan Hunter-Reay (of the IZOD IndyCar Series) has been running. The recognition of what goes on over time (in the voting), it’s awesome.”

Barry Schmoyer, president of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Jimmie Johnson is a champion all of the time. And the panel takes his performance very seriously.”

In the quarterly voting, Johnson, who drives the Lowe’s No. 48 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports, had six first-place ballots and totaled 81 points.

Hunter-Reay, who had two victories in the quarter (Milwaukee and Iowa) driving No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Chevrolet Dallara DW-12 for Andretti Autosport, earned two first-place votes and tallied 71 points.

Joey Logano, who raced in both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series, had a Cup victory in Pocono and three Nationwide wins and that netted him third place in the quarterly voting with one first -place vote and 51 points.

Ron Capps, a Funny Car driver in the NHRA, and World of Outlaws sprint car driver  Sammy Swindell, each had two first-place votes.

A total of 20 drivers scored points in the second-quarter voting.

In its 46th year, the Driver of The Year Award is unique. The voting panel, comprised of 21 members, determines the winner. Three panelists did not cast votes in the quarter.

In the quarterly balloting, panelists cast votes for six drivers in order of preference. Points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2 ,1 basis.

Johnson will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a race weekend at to be determined.

Further information on the award may be obtained from Driver of the Year Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Fla., 34230; or by calling (941) 928-3033 or emailing Schmoyer at

| , Wednesday, July 18 2012
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti