Will Power Wins In Edmonton

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 24 2011

Will Power won in Edmonton on Sunday. (Photo courtesy of the IZOD IndyCar Series)


Will Power held off Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves to get the victory in the IndyCar Series race in Edmonton, Alberta on Sunday.

Finishing third on the revamped road course at the city’s airport, was points leader Dario Franchitti of Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

The victory was the fourth of the season for Power.

Tony Kanaan of KV Racing Technologies was fourth and Justin Wilson was fifth.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Andretti Autosport teammate Mike Conway, both of whom received avoidable contact penalties from Race Control early on, recovered to finish seventh and eighth, respectively. Danica Patrick, another Andretti Autosport driver, was ninth and Briscoe finished 10th. Rookie JR Hildebrand, who started 24th, came in 11th.

The three leaders stayed within fractions of seconds of each other from the time the final rounds of pit stops cycled through until the end of the race.

“When I came out I had on reds (tires) and thought I have to look after them so I will really be gentle,” Power said. “Then Helio was right there and I’m like, “Man, I’ve got to go.” I had to ask Tim (Cindric) if that was for the lead. He said, “Yeah, go!” I just held on there at the end.”

Castroneves never could force a pass past his teammate.

“This is a great result,” Castroneves said. “I wanted to win so bad but at the end of the day, after the season we’ve been having this is like a victory.  We had awesome pit stops and everything went smoothly. We finally fixed the brakes because I was quite busy in Turn 1 during our practice sessions. Once we had good balance in the car, then I knew what I needed to do. I was able to avoid a lot of accidents. It was just fantastic to be up at the front in the end.”

The podium was the first of the season for Castroneves.

The victory by Power cut Franchitti’s points lead to 38 points.

“It was so bloody hard there at the end with Helio and Dario pushing me along. I just couldn’t gap them,” Power said. “It’s good for Verizon and also good for Team Penske. To finish 1-2 is really good.”

Franchitti’s finish was a good one, he said, as he was nearly taken out in a wreck caused when E.J. Viso carried too much speed into a corner. That mistake did wreck Scott Dixon, Franchitti’s teammate.

“The Target car was quick in clean air and we moved from 10th to third,” Franchitti said. “It could have been better but Will and Helio drove clean races. I think the Target car was quicker but they had the track position and they didn’t screw up when I did. I was going as quick as I could behind Helio but he was very strong on the brakes right behind Will. Not a bad day for the Championship and the E.J. incident could have really screwed the whole thing up, so I am pleased with my finish.”

Results Sunday of the Edmonton Indy IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 2.224 mile Edmonton Airport Circuit, with order of finish, starting position  in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1.  (2) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

2.  (9) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

3.  (4) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

4.  (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

5.  (15) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

6.  (12) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

7.  (7) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

8.  (20) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

9.  (22) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

10.  (6) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

11.  (24) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

12.  (14) Vitor Meira, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

13.  (23) Ana Beatriz, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

14.  (19) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

15.  (10) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

16.  (26) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

17.  (17) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

18.  (18) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

19.  (21) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 79, Running

20.  (5) EJ Viso, Dallara-Honda, 79, Running

21.  (1) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 79, Running

22.  (8) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Honda, 76, Running

23.  (3) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 74, Running

24.  (16) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Honda, 54, Mechanical

25.  (13) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 0, Contact

26.  (25) Paul Tracy, Dallara-Honda, 0, Contact

Race Statistics

Winners average speed:   90.949

Time of Race: 01:57:22.5177

Margin of victory: .8089 of a second.

Cautions: 2 for 8 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers

Lap Leaders: Sato 1-18, Power 19-26, Conway 27-28, Power 29-53, Castroneves 54, Franchitti 55-56, Power 57-80

Point Standings: Franchitti 388, Power 350, Dixon 282, Kanaan 253, Servia 244, Briscoe 239, Andretti 232, Rahal 218, Castroneves 212, Hildebrand 212.

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, July 24 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.