Home » Sports Cars

Gurney/Fogarty win Laguna Seca

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 9 2011


Alex Gurney took advantage of a rare miscue by Scott Pruett, beating him out of the pits on their final stops on Lap 80 after Pruett slightly overshot his pit.

Gurney then held off the Daytona Prototype championship leader for the final 28 laps, winning Saturday’s Grand-Am race at Laguna Seca by 0.431 seconds.

Gurney and Jon Fogarty broke a 10-race winless streak in the No. 99 GAINSCO Auto InsuranceChevrolet/Riley of the season, dating back to last year’s event at New Jersey Motorsports Park when Gurney passed Pruett heading to the white flag.

Gurney and Fogarty also won the most recent RolexSeries race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in 2009, their second DP championship season.

Ricky Taylor captured his fourth consecutive pole position in the No. 10 SunTrustChevrolet/Dallara and combined with Max Angelelli to lead a race-high 57 laps.

Angelelli took third from Starworks Motorsport driver Ryan Dalziel in the closing laps for the second consecutive event.

Leh Keen and Andrew Davis captured their second GT victory of the season in the No. 59Brumos Porsche GT3 Cup, taking the lead in the championship in the process.

Bill Lester and Jordan Taylor entered the event with a four-point lead. Taylor lost a lap on a pitstop when the team attempted to fix the brake lights on the No. 88 Autohaus Motorsports ChevroletCamaro. Keen and Davis now lead the championship by 10 points (222-212).

SpeedSource took the remaining GT podium positions. Jeff Segal and Emil Assentato tooksecond in the No. 69 FXDD Mazda RX-8, followed by Sylvain Tremblay and Jonathan Bomarito in the No.70 Castrol Edge Mazda RX-8.The SurprisesRyan Dalziel drove nearly the entire event.

After starting Starworks Motorsport’s No. 2 Porsche/Riley, he turned that car over to Alex Popow and then relieved Mike Forest in the team’s No. 8 Ford/Riley.

Dalzielran, as high as second in the closing laps,  finished fourth.

James Davison led seven laps in the No. 23 Michael Shank Racing Ford/Dallara, and was a contenderuntil flat-spotting a tire and damaging the suspension.

After qualifying on the front row for the second consecutive week, Wayne Nonnamaker was in contentionfor a podium finish with John Edwards in the No. 42 Team Sahlen Mazda RX-8 before a cut oil line led toa spin and a long time off course for repairs.

Raphael Matos led a lap in his first race with Turner Motorsport. He finished eighth, keeping Paul DallaLana third in the championship.While the Spirit of Daytona Chevrolet/Coyote struggled throughout the weekend with mechanical problems and fell several laps down in the early going, Antonio Garcia ran the fastest lap of the race latein the event, 1:21.030 (99.430 mph

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 9 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.