Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Carl Edwards Nabs Second Quarter DOTY Award

| Senior Writer, Thursday, July 7 2011

Carl Edwards is presented with his Driver of the Year Award for the second quarter of the 2011 season by voters Terry Blount of, Lewis Franck of Reuters, Mike Vega of the Boston Globe.

By John Sturbin | Senior Writer

Carl Edwards’ podium prowess in NASCAR’s Nationwide and Sprint Cup series this spring has earned the popular Roush Fenway Racing driver recognition as second quarter Driver of the Year.

Edwards posted three Nationwide Series victories and another three runner-up finishes in 10 events – and added a signature win in Cup’s non-points Sprint All-Star Race – during the period from April 16 to June 26.

Edwards received eight first-place ballots and totaled 98 points from the DOTY’s 21-member media panel to outscore NHRA Top Fuel ace Del Worsham, who drew five first-place votes and 88 points.

“It’s a huge honor and I’m very proud to have won the second quarter Driver of The Year,” said Edwards, who earned the fourth quarter DOTY in 2008. “Just to be up for an award like that is huge, so to win it is spectacular.

“The people who really have earned this are the guys that build these race cars and my team. We have turned things around from a year ago. I have to imagine we weren’t even in the running a year ago, so my sponsors Aflac, Fastenal, Ford, Scotts …the guys building these race cars, Doug Yates everyone, have come together and been working really well.”

Edwards, driver of the No. 60 Fastenal/Scotts Ford Mustang, posted Nationwide victories at

Top Fueler Del Worsham was second in DOTY voting. (Photo courtesy of the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series)

Nashville Superspeedway, Dover International Speedway and Michigan International Speedway – punctuating each with his trademark back-flip celebration. He also strung together consecutive runnerup results at Iowa Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway and Chicagoland Speedway to dominate the series in which – per revised NASCAR rules – he is ineligible for the 2011 championship.

In Cup, Edwards won the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway in his No. 99 Aflac Ford Fusion; finished second at Darlington Raceway and third in the season’s first road-course event at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif. Eleven Cup races were run during the quarter, which ended with Edwards leading Kevin Harvick of Richard Childress Racing by 25 points.

Worsham’s remarkable return to the NHRA’s Top Fuel ranks from Funny Car featured three victories, including two over Al-Anabi Racing teammate Larry Dixon, the three-time/reigning world champion. Driving the car Dixon wheeled to the 2010 championship, Worsham defeated Dixon in the second annual 4-Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway at Charlotte, N.C., and at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas. Worsham also won the most recent national event at Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

Worsham added a runnerup result to Spencer Massey at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, N.J., to end the seven-event quarter with a 61-point lead over the Texan. Massey posted back-to-back wins at Heartland Park Topeka and in Englishtown and added a runnerup finish at Norwalk in the Prestone/FRAM Dragster fielded by Don Schumacher Racing.

Dario Franchitti, the three-time/reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion, was third in the voting with 80 points and two first-place ballots. Franchitti, of Target Chip Ganassi Racing, won the first of two night races at Texas Motor Speedway last month and at The Milwaukee Mile. The Scotsman added a third-place result on the Streets of Long Beach during the seven-races contested in the period. Franchitti ended the quarter with a 20-point lead over Will Power of Team Penske.

In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. NASCAR’s Kyle Busch won the first quarter 2011 DOTY award in April with nine first-place votes and a 121-89 point margin over Edwards. Harvick placed third with 84 points. A total of 14 drivers scored points in the first quarter voting; 21 drivers were recognized during the second quarter. The final DOTY vote is determined by a secret ballot at season’s end. Five-time/reigning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson of Hendrick Motorsports won the award for a record-tying fourth time in 2010. Jeff Gordon, Johnson’s HMS teammate, also is a four-time DOTY winner.

Edwards will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch later this season.

Barry Schmoyer is president of the award, which was first presented in 1967. Further information may be obtained from the DOTY Foundation, P.O. Box 49827, Sarasota, Fla., 34230; by calling (941) 379-2318 or via email at

| Senior Writer, Thursday, July 7 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti