Home » Track News

Night Racing At TMS

| , RacinToday.com Thursday, June 23 2011


Fort Worth, Texas  – Night racing will resume tonight at Texas Motor Speedway, as short-track drivers from across the region converge on the facility’s quarter-mile oval to compete in the Thursday Night Summer Stampede.

The 10-week series, which concludes on Aug. 19, features seven classes: Bando Bandits (8-12-years-old); Bando Outlaws (12-and-up); Legends Young Lions (12-16); Legends Semi-Pro (16-40); Legends Masters (Over 40) and Legends Pro. And for the first time in Summer Stampede history, Limited Modifieds will compete on the short track.

Several drivers look to defend their Summer Stampede championships from last year. Michael Meek (Bando Bandits) and TJ Michael (Legends Young Lions) are out to win consecutive championships in their respective divisions, while Tim McDonald, last year’s Legends Masters champion, eyes his second championship.

Gates will open tonight at 6:30 p.m. (CDT). On-track activities begin with practice from 7 to 7:35 p.m. followed by racing at 8:10 p.m.

Summer Stampede offers the ideal setting for family fun with exciting racing and special promotions every week. Scheduled promotions:

June 23 – Hawaiian Splash (Wear a Hawaiian shirt and receive half-off admission)

June 30 – Bubba Olympics

July 7 – $1 Hot Dog Night

July 14 – Game Show Night

July 21 – Tune It Up

July 28 – Team Night (Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts and sports teams wearing their uniform will receive half-off admission)

Aug. 4 – Autograph Night

Aug. 11 – Back to School Night (First 200 fans receive TMS backpack)

Aug. 18 – Hometown Heroes Night (Those presenting their badge or military ID will receive free admission)

Aug. 19 – Fan Appreciation Night

Grandstand admission for Summer Stampede is $10 for adults, $5 for kids and children 3-and-under are free. Parking is free at Gate 4 and fans are allowed to bring in coolers. Tickets can be purchased at the Gate 4 box office. For more information, visit www.texasmotorspeedway.com or contact the Texas Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (817) 215-8500.

| , RacinToday.com Thursday, June 23 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.