Home » FEATURE STORY, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Five New Members Elected To NASCAR Hall

| Managing Editor, RacinToday.com Tuesday, June 14 2011

Cale Yarborough came up a winner in voting for the 2012 NASCAR Hall Fame. (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images for NASCAR)

By Jim Pedley | Managing Editor

Charlotte, N.C. – The 2012 Class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame was elected today and it includes a mix of legendary drivers, a crew chief and a driver/owner.

The third class to be elected to the Hall includes Darrell Watlrip, Cale Yarborough, Dale Inman, Richie Evans and Glen Wood.

They will join first-year honorees Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, Bill France Sr. and Bill France Jr.; and second-year honorees David Pearson, Ned Jarrett, Bud Moore, Lee Petty and Bobby Allison.

Voting for the 2012 class was held at the Charlotte Convention Center in Uptown Charlotte.

Voters included retired drivers, crew chiefs, media, promoters and pioneers of the sport.

The vote came after several hours of discussion of the 25 candidates in a closed session.

Waltrip won 84 races as a driver, which ties him for third most on the all-time list. He also won 59 poles and was a three-time Cup champion. He currently serves as a television analyst.

Yarborough has 83 victories. He won three straight championships – in 1976, ’77 and ’78. That was the longest streak in Cup until Jimmie Johnson won four and then five. Yarborough won 69 poles.

Dale Inman was the crew chief for Richard Petty for nearly three decades. He helped Petty win seven championships and then moved over to help Terry Labonte win a championship. He is given credit for being a teacher and fostering many other top crew chiefs who have been successful in the sport.

Richie Evans is a NASCAR Modified champion from Rome, N.Y. He won nine championships in 13 years and eight in a row from 1978-’85. It is estimated he won 575 races.

Glen Wood is the founder of the Wood Brothers Racing team who also did some driving. With brother Leonard at his side, Glen Wood won 98 races and 118 poles. He was an innovative mechanic and is credited with turning pit stops into race-winning tactics.

(This story will be updated shortly)

– Jim Pedley can be reached at jpedley@racintoday.com

| Managing Editor, RacinToday.com Tuesday, June 14 2011
One Comment

One Comment »

  • Terry says:

    I am …OK…with these selections.
    I do believe Glen and Leonard should have gone in together.
    It has always been the Wood….” BROTHERS “.