Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Kyle Busch Honored With DOTY

| , RacinToday.com Monday, April 25 2011

Kyle Busch and crew chief Dave Rogers at Bristol Motor Speedway. (RacinToday/HHP photo by Christa L Thomas)


NASCAR’s Kyle Busch was named recipient of the Driver of the Year Foundation’s Driver of the Year award for the first quarter of the 2011 auto racing season, it was announced Monday.

Busch beat out fellow NASCAR drivers Carl Edwards and Kevin Harvick in voting for the award.

Helping Busch earn the award – which goes to drivers in American race series and is voted upon by a panel of motorsports journalists and broadcasters – was his ability to earn victories in all three of NASCAR’s top divisions: Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Trucks.

“It’s been a great start to the season in all three series’ and that’s because of the great people we have at JGR (Joe Gibbs Racing) and KBM (Kyle Busch Motorsports),” said Busch. “This award is testament to all of those guys. Each of my teams have done a great job bringing me good cars to the racetrack each week and if we haven’t won, we’ve been in contention more times than not. In particular, Dave Rogers and all the guys on the M&M’s Toyota (Sprint Cup) team and everyone at JGR are working very hard and we hope to have a shot at bringing home a Sprint Cup championship at the end of the year.”

Busch, 25, won the Bristol Motor Speedway Cup race, four Nationwide races and one Camping World Truck race in the first quarter of the season.

Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Calling Kyle Busch versatile would be an understatement. He certainly proved that he is a triple-threat to win on any given weekend. And he’s only 25 years old. I wouldn’t be surprised if, some year soon, I will be handing him the Driver of the Year trophy” which goes to the driver who is voted top driver for the entire season.

Busch received nine first-place ballots and totaled 121 points according to the DOTY points system. Edwards garnered six first-place votes and 89 points and Harvick also earned six first-place votes and 84 points.

A total of 14 drivers scored points in the first quarter voting.

In its’ 45th year, the Driver of the Year Award is unique. A panel of 21 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the country determines the winner.  In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Busch will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at Infineon Raceway on the SaveMart 350 weekend.

Barry Schmoyer is a businessman and sportsman of Sarasota, Florida.

Further information on the award may be obtained from Driver of the Year Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email: barrydoty@yahoo.com.

| , RacinToday.com Monday, April 25 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.