Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year, HEADLINE, NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Johnson Gets DOTY Hardware

| , Friday, April 22 2011

Jimmie Johnson is presented with his 2010 Driver of the Year award by Barry Schmoyer (left), president of he Driver of the Year Foundations, and NASCAR president Mike Helton.

Jimmie Johnson was presented with the 2010 Driver of the Year Award trophy last week during ceremonies at the International Hall of Fame dinner in Talladega, Ala.

Johnson, who in 2010 won his fifth straight Sprint Cup championship, was presented with the trophy and a Tissot watch by Driver of the Year Foundation president Barry Schmoyer.

The DOTY award is in its 45th year, making it the oldest award of its kind. It goes to the top driver in American racing.

The award is voted upon by a panel of 20 national media members.

In addition to honoring a yearly overall winner, the DOTY holds quarterly votes.

Johnson, who drives the No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet in the Cup series, has won the DOTY four times (2006, ’07, ’09 and 2010). He also was 2010’s first-quarter winner.

His DOTY streak was interrupted by NHRA Top Fuel driver Tony Schumacher in 2008.

The DOTY panel voted in a secret ballot for a single driver. NHRA Funny Car driver John Force received seven votes and NACAR driver Kyle Busch received one.

Mario Andretti and Darrell Waltrip each won the award three times.

| , Friday, April 22 2011
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti