Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

Childress To Swap Cup Crew Chiefs

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, April 22 2009

Kevin Harvick to get new crew chief.

Kevin Harvick to get new crew chief.


Richard Childress Racing’s No. 07 Jack Daniel’s crew  will become the No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil crew, and vice versa,  immediately following this weekend’s race at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway.

 Crew chief Gil Martin and his crew will move to the No. 29 team with driver Kevin Harvick while Todd Berrier and his crew will take over the No. 07 team with driver Casey Mears. In addition to the crew chiefs, the transition will include car chiefs, engineers, shock specialists, engine tuners, tire specialists, mechanics, transporter drivers and over-the-wall pit crews. Harvick and Mears, who will maintain their race spotters, are currently 16th and 22nd, respectively, in the Sprint Cup Series point standings after eight races.

“The decision to interchange the 29 and 07 teams was made to make both programs stronger and more successful,” said Richard Childress, president and CEO of Richard Childress Racing. “Our main objective has always been to have all four of RCR’s teams qualify for the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Neither team has had the success this season that we know they’re capable of, so we decided it was time to make a change to improve the two teams and the overall strength of RCR. We feel this change positions us to achieve that goal. 

“Todd and Gil are proven winners who have strong and successful teams behind them. Chemistry is an important part of any successful organization and I felt it was time to change the makeup of these two teams. We’ve done this before with positive results.” 

Berrier was named crew chief of the No. 29 team in March 2003. He and Harvick have eight Cup victories together, including the 2007 Daytona 500 and 2003 Brickyard 400. Berrier previously led Harvick to the 2001 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship, the 2000 Nationwide Series Rookie of the Year award and seven NNS victories with RCR’s No. 2 team. He has been with RCR since 1994.

 Martin was named crew chief of the No. 07 team in December 2005. He has four Sprint Cup Series victories with three RCR drivers, including Clint Bowyer, Harvick and Robby Gordon. Martin was the crew chief of the No. 29 team in 2002 and went on to guide Harvick to victory in that season’s race at Chicagoland Speedway. He moved to the program’s team manager position in March 2003 where he remained until midway through the 2004 season. Martin has been with RCR since 2000.

_ Courtesy Richard Childress Racing

| , RacinToday.com Wednesday, April 22 2009
No Comment

Comments are closed.