Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year, INDYCAR

Power Wins 3rd Quarter DOTY

| , Wednesday, October 6 2010

IndyCar driver Will Power receives his 3rd quarter Driver Of The Year Award from DOTY Foundation president Barry Schmoyer.

By Lewis Franck
Driver of the Year Panel

Open-wheel star Will Power’s breakout season now includes his selection as third quarter Driver of the Year by a narrow margin over NASCAR’s Kyle Busch.

Power, locked in a season-long battle for the IZOD IndyCar Series championship with Dario Franchitti, edged Busch by two points (109-107) in voting conducted by a national panel of 20 media members.

Power, 29, posted three victories and two second-place finishes during the quarter ending on Sept. 14. He received six first-place ballots and totaled 109 points under the DOTY’s scoring system which awards points on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.

“It’s definitely an honor to be named as Driver of the Third Quarter by the top motorsports journalists,” said Power, driver of the No. 12 Dallara/Honda fielded by Team Penske. “We’ve had an awesome season at Verizon Team Penske and without a great third quarter we wouldn’t be in the position we’re in _ winner of the Mario Andretti Road Course Championship and battling for the overall IndyCar title.”

Power is in his first full season with the team headed by Roger Penske, who originally signed the Australian to sub for Helio Castroneves during his federal income tax trial last year. In August 2009, Power’s part-time job at Team Penske came to an abrupt halt when he slammed into the side of the stalled car of series rookie Nelson Philippe during practice at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif. Power suffered compression fractures in his back, and spent plenty of hospital sheet time pondering his future. Penske rewarded him with a fulltime ride, and Power since has emerged as IndyCar’s road-racing ace.

“I have to thank everyone at Team Penske and Verizon for all their hard work and support,” said Power, who will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch from DOTY. The fourth quarter vote is scheduled for Dec. 1, followed by the final/separate ballot for 2010 Driver of the Year.

Busch scored seven wins in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck series en route to his runnerup position in the voting. Busch, of Joe Gibbs Racing, dominated Nationwide drivers during the quarter with four wins and a second and third en route to six first-place votes and 107 points.

Harvick, who drives for Richard Childress Racing in Cup, scored two victories during the quarter while leading the points chase. Harvick also posted a Truck Series victory to earn five first-place votes and 79 points.

Larry Dixon, the National Hot Rod Association’s points-leader in Top Fuel for Al-Anabi Racing, received two first-place votes and 73 points. Fifteen drivers scored points during the quarter.

In its 44th year, the Driver of the Year title is recognized as the oldest award for motorsports in North America. Barry Schmoyer, businessman and sportsman from Sarasota, Fla., is president of the Driver of the Year Foundation. Further information on the award can be obtained by writing the foundation at PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Fla., 34230; by calling (941) 379-2318 or via email at:

– Lewis Franck is a member of the Driver Of The Year panel

| , Wednesday, October 6 2010
No Comment

Comments are closed.


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti