Briscoe Rides To Peak Pole

| , RacinToday.com Friday, August 27 2010

Ryan Briscoe, who won the oval race at Texas Motor Speedway earlier this year, won the pole at Chicagoland Speedway on Friday. (Photo courtesy of the IZOD IndyCar Series)


Ryan Briscoe on Friday won the pole for this weekend’s Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil 300 IZOD IndyCar Series race at Chicagoland Speedway.

The Team Penske driver’s speed was 216.346 mph.

“The car today was just spot on,” said Briscoe, who won from the pole at Texas Motor Speedway in early June. “I didn’t want to be overconfident, but I was thinking after that run, ‘Man, that has to be hard to beat.’ I knew we were fully trimmed out and the car felt really solid.

“It was a great qualifying run and I’m just really hoping that we can follow through tomorrow and have another good race. We’ve been strong here the last couple of years and I really enjoy racing around here. It’s always exciting. It’s a completely wide track that’s really smooth. It really promotes good racing so I always get excited to come back here.”

Second was Dario Franchitti, who is second in points behind Will Power entering the Saturday night race. The speed for the Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver was 215.593 mph.

“Qualifying is a like an engineering exercise,” said Franchitti, who won at Chicagoland in 2007. “It’s getting all of those pieces into place. Then, if you miss one of them, or in Ryan’s case if you get them all just right, then you see the result. We’d like to have that extra point (for the pole) but we’re starting up front and I think we have a pretty good car in race trim.

“One of the things we realize about these one-and-half mile races is really that anything can happen. It can just go completely bad at anytime. It would be nice to stay up front all night, but we’re prepared for almost anything.”

Power, a five-time winner this season, was third fastest in qualifying. Next fastest was the teammate of Power and Briscoe, Helio Castroneves.

Results of qualifying Friday for the PEAK Antifreeze & Motor Oil Indy 300 IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 1.52-mile Chicagoland Speedway, with starting position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, and speed:

1. (6) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 216.346

2. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 215.593

3. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 215.521

4. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 215.475

5. (26) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 215.321

6. (02) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 215.314

7. (4) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 215.099

8. (06) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 215.055

9. (37) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 214.979

10. (5) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 214.945

11. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Honda, 214.831

12. (7) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 214.750

13. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 214.632

14. (19) Alex Lloyd, Dallara-Honda, 214.468

15. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 214.269

16. (8) EJ Viso, Dallara-Honda, 214.210

17. (36) Tomas Scheckter, Dallara-Honda, 214.093

18. (2) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 213.975

19. (77) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 213.910

20. (34) Bertrand Baguette, Dallara-Honda, 213.682

21. (32) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 213.458

22. (24) Ana Beatriz, Dallara-Honda, 213.429

23. (22) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 213.385

24. (14) Vitor Meira, Dallara-Honda, 213.106

25. (67) Sarah Fisher, Dallara-Honda, 213.095

26. (18) Milka Duno, Dallara-Honda, 212.777

27. (78) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Honda, 212.660

28. (21) Davey Hamilton, Dallara-Honda, 212.484

29. (66) Jay Howard, Dallara-Honda, 212.097

| , RacinToday.com Friday, August 27 2010
No Comment

Comments are closed.