Voting Panel

Chris Economaki
Editor/Publisher, National Speed Sport News
Dr. Dick Berggren
Executive editor, Speedway Illustrated
Eli Gold
TV and Radio Broadcaster
Bob Jenkins,
TV Broadcaster
Ken Squier
TV Broadcaster
Steve Ballard
Writer, Indianapolis Star
Lewis Franck
Correspondent for Reuters
Mike Harris
Motorsports Editor, AP
Ed Hinton
Writer, ESPN.COM
John Sturbin
Senior Writer,
Mike Vega
Writer, Boston Globe
Steve Waid
Vice President of Editorial Development, NASCAR Scene
Jim Pedley
Managing Editor,
Bob Varsha
TV Broadcaster, Speed Channel
Mike Brudenell
Detroit Free Press
Nate Ryan
Writer, USA Today
Terry Blount
Dustin Long
Writer, Landmark Newspapers,/ National Motorsports Press Association President
Tom Jensen
Senior NASCAR Editor,
Jenna Fryer
Motorsports Writer, The Associated Press
Home » Driver of the Year

Cup’s Hamlin Is Second Quarter DOTY Winner

| , Saturday, July 24 2010

Sprint Cup driver Denny Hamlin was voted the Driver Of The Year Award for the second quarter of the 2010 racing season. Presenting Hamlin with his award at Indianapolis Motor Speedway were DOTY panelists Lewis Franck of Reuters, Terry Blount of, Nate Ryan of USA Today and Jenna Fryer of the Associated Press.

By Lewis Franck
Driver of The Year Panelist

It was virtually no contest as Denny Hamlin was voted second quarter winner of the Driver Of The Year Award.

Hamlin bounced back from knee surgery about one month before the second quarter began, and won three NASCAR Sprint Cup races and one NASCAR Nationwide series race in the period ending June 20th.

Driving the No. 11 FedEx Toyota owned by Joe Gibbs Racing, Hamlin was awarded the honor for the first time in his career.

“This is a great award and I want to thank everyone on the panel. This FedEx team had a great start to this 2010 season and we are looking to get back to winning races, and to be in position to make a strong run at a championship. It’s an honor to be listed among a lot of my fellow Sprint Cup competitors, and with a lot of great drivers in other series as well,” he said.

Hamlin, 29, had victories in the Showtime Southern 500, Pocono 500, and Heluva Good! Sour Dips 400. And, he won from the pole at Royal Purple 200 Nationwide race in the #20 Z-Line Designs Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Barry Schmoyer, president of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Hamlin had been tapped by the media as a Cup contender before his knee injury. His success following the surgery shows what a true champion he is. I’m not surprised at the outcome. He and his team never let up.”

Hamlin took 12 first-place votes which was six times his closest competition; teammate, Kyle Busch. Hamlin’s scored 122 points according to the Driver Of The Year points system compared to Busch’s 56 points.

Dario Franchitti, the Indy 500 winner who drives the Target Chip Ganassi IndyCar, also had one first place vote and received 54 points.

Mike Edwards, the NHRA’s ProStock driver, also received one first place ballot finishing fifth, behind Larry Dixon in the Top Fuel division.

A total of 16 drivers scored points in the second quarter voting.

In its’ 44th year, the Driver Of The Year title is unique. A panel of 20 leading journalists from across the U.S. determines the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Hamlin will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch was presented at the Brickyard 400.

A secret ballot determines the overall Driver Of The Year winner.  All motor sports drivers competing in U.S.-based series are eligible for the award, as are Americans racing elsewhere in the world.

“It’s an honor to be listed among a lot of my fellow Sprint Cup competitors, and with a lot of great drivers in other series as well. I hope I’ll be in the running for this award again this season,” Hamlin added.

Further information on the award may be obtained from DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email:

| , Saturday, July 24 2010
No Comment


“There is no higher compliment on your driving. Of all the awards, this one is special. The criteria go directly to your performance. It carries an awful lot of prestige.”
– Mario Andretti

“It’s an honor to be named Driver of the Year ... It’s something I take a lot of pride in, especially since one of the guys I’ve always looked up to in racing, A.J. Foyt, won this award back in 1975."
– Tony Stewart

“I said it in December, and I’ll say it again – this award is dedicated to our Army Strong soldiers Their teamwork and passion are inspiring and a huge part of our drive to be successful.”
-Tony Schumacher.

Previous Recipients

2011-Tony Stewart
2010-Jimmie Johnson
2009-Jimmie Johnson
2008-Tony Schumacher
2007-Jimmie Johnson
2006-Jimmie Johnson
2005-Tony Stewart
2004-Greg Anderson
2003-Ryan Newman
2002-Cristiano da Matta
2001-Jeff Gordon
2000-Bobby Labonte
1999-Dale Jarrett
1998-Jeff Gordon
1997-Jeff Gordon
1996-John Force
1995-Jeff Gordon
1994-Dale Earnhardt
1993-Nigel Mansell
1992-Bobby Rahal
1991-Michael Andretti
1990-Al Unser, Jr.
1989-Emerson Fittipaldi
1988-Bill Elliott
1987-Dale Earnhardt
1986-Bobby Rahal
1985-Bill Elliott
1984-Mario Andretti
1983-Bobby Rahal
1982-Darrell Waltrip
1981-Darrell Waltrip
1980-Johnny Rutherford
1979-Darrell Waltrip
1978-Mario Andretti
1977-Cale Yarborough
1976-David Pearson
1975-A.J. Foyt
1974-Bobby Unser
1973-David Pearson
1972-Bobby Allison
1971-Richard Petty
1970-Al Unser, Sr.
1969-Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968-Mark Donohue
1967-Mario Andretti