Penske Sweeps At The Glen

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 3 2010

Will Power on the pole in Iowa. (IndyCar photo)


Will Power won the pole for Sunday’s Camping World Grand Prix IndyCar Series race at Watkins Glen International on Saturday.

Power’s pole-securing lap at the 3.37-mile road course in New York was at 135.832 mph.

Starting second will be Helio Castroneves, Power’s teammate at Team Penske.

Ryan Briscoe gave Penske the third spot on the starting grid.

Dario Franchitti, winner of this year’s Indianapolis 500, was fourth for Target Chip Ganassi Racing while Takuma Sato of KV Racing Technology was fifth.

The Penske team tied a long-standing open-wheel record with its eighth consecutive pole position.

“This is incredible,” said Power. “When you have the combination of drivers, engineers and crew guys that we’ve got, you can expect things like this to happen.”

Saturday’s result also marked the sixth consecutive season that Team Penske has been awarded the pole at Watkins Glen (Castroneves started from the top position in 2006 when the starting grid was based on practice times). Unfortunately, the team is still searching for its first win at The Glen during the remarkable run.

Castroneves credited his teammates, Penske Racing president Tim Cindric and his race engineer Ron Ruzewski with the result, and noted that the chemistry inside the team is tailored for success.

“This is a heck of a team,” said Castroneves. “Credit goes to Cindric and Will and Ryan. We’re all working together very well, and it shows. Certainly the competition is pushing us, but we’re able to do it. Everybody is on the same page. It’s a great atmosphere. We all want to win, but at the end of the day, as Roger (Penske) always says, ‘Only the team wins.’”

Briscoe, who won the previous two pole positions for the team at Watkins Glen, was excited to be a part of the team’s qualifying sweep – the first time Team Penske secured the top three spots in qualifying since last year’s race at Edmonton when Power won the pole followed by Briscoe and Castroneves.

“That was a really great result for Team Penske – qualifying 1-2-3 is awesome,” said Briscoe. “The balance was off just a tick on my car and I had to use up some of my tire allotment to make it into the fast six. I feel really good about the team’s performance today and we have three strong cars for the race tomorrow.”

Results Saturday of Qualifying for the Camping World Grand Prix At The Glen IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 3.37-mile(s) Watkins Glen International, with starting position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, time and speed in parentheses:”

1. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 1:29.3164 (135.832)

2. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 1:29.4609 (135.612)

3. (6) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 1:29.9346 (134.898)

4. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 1:29.9601 (134.860)

5. (5) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.1410 (134.589)

6. (22) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.2667 (134.402)

7. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.1389 (134.592)

8. (26) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.2042 (134.495)

9. (32) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.2644 (134.405)

10. (27) Adam Carroll, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.4886 (134.072)

11. (2) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.5276 (134.014)

12. (24) Paul Tracy, Dallara-Honda, 1:30.8414 (133.551)

13. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.1934 (133.036)

14. (06) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.1723 (133.067)

15. (78) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.3268 (132.842)

16. (37) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.4333 (132.687)

17. (14) Vitor Meira, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.4088 (132.722)

18. (34) Mario Romancini, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.5797 (132.475)

19. (77) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.5218 (132.559)

20. (4) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.5988 (132.447)

21. (7) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 1:31.5329 (132.543)

22. (19) Alex Lloyd, Dallara-Honda, 1:33.9832 (129.087)

23. (36) Bertrand Baguette, Dallara-Honda, 1:32.1888 (131.600)

24. (18) Milka Duno, Dallara-Honda, 1:40.4911 (120.727)

25. (8) EJ Viso, Dallara-Honda, No Time (No Speed)

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, July 3 2010