Power Powers To Another Pole

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 17 2010

Will Power on the pole in St. Pete. (IndyCar photo)


Will Power continued his rampage through the IZOD IndyCar Series 2010 season winning the pole for Sunday’s Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on Saturday.

Team Penske’s Power, who has won two of the first three races on the schedule, won his third pole of the four-race season. His only non-pole start came in the season-opening event in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, recorded a quick lap of 1 minute, 09.3185 seconds in the 10-minute Firestone Fast Six shootout on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn temporary street circuit to earn the PEAK Performance Pole Award for the 36th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

“We certainly have the car figured out, and I’m very happy that the Verizon car is P1 again,” Power said. “We’ve got to get the strategy right this weekend. I know sometimes it’s really hard to read, but we need to keep executing in races.”

Power, who won at Long Beach in 2008, recorded his third consecutive pole start (Dario Franchitti was P1 in Brazil). The series record is four by teammate Helio Castroneves and Billy Boat.

“I think the key to success is starting up front,” Power said. “I think getting the yellow. You’ve got to get the lucky yellow. You can be out front leading and bam, get caught by a yellow. You could see it last weekend. Strategy can screw you, but it also can go your way.”

Ryan Hunter-Reay, driving the No. 37 IZOD car for Andretti Autosport, notched a season-best second starting position (1:09.7506). Justin Wilson (1:09.7939) tied a season best with a third-place start in the No. 22 Z-Line Designs car for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, and Castroneves (1:09.8470) will join him in Row 2.

Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe (1:10.0255) and Andretti Autosport’s Tony Kanaan (1:10.1618) will be on Row 3. Kanaan, driving the No. 11 Team 7-Eleven car, posted his fourth consecutive top-10 start (and participated in the Fast Six for the third time).

It was the first time that Team Penske had three cars compete in the Firestone Fast Six since it was instituted in 2007 (21 races). Conversely, Scott Dixon will start eighth and teammate Dario Franchitti will start 12th – the first time that a Target Chip Ganassi Racing car has not qualified for the Firestone Fast Six. Dixon, though, extended his series record to 36 consecutive top-10 starts.


LONG BEACH, Calif. – Qualifying Saturday for the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 1.968-mile Streets of Long Beach circuit, with starting position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, time and speed in parentheses:”

1. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.3185 (102.206)
2. (37) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.7506 (101.573)
3. (22) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.7939 (101.510)
4. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.8470 (101.433)
5. (6) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.0255 (101.175)
6. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.1618 (100.978)
7. (77) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.8730 (101.395)
8. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 1:09.9688 (101.257)
9. (26) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.1760 (100.958)
10. (4) Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.2574 (100.841)
11. (06) Hideki Mutoh, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.2730 (100.818)
12.  10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.3358 (100.728)
13. (78) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.3722 (100.676)
14. (14) Vitor Meira, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.4259 (100.599)
15. (32) Mario Moraes, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.5093 (100.480)
16. (24) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.4586 (100.553)
17. (8) EJ Viso, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.5991 (100.353)
18. (2) Raphael Matos, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.5068 (100.484)
19. (5) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.7000 (100.209)
20. (7) Danica Patrick, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.5503 (100.422)
21. (19) Alex Lloyd, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.8003 (100.067)
22. (67) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.7722 (100.107)
23. (34) Mario Romancini, Dallara-Honda, 1:10.9914 (99.798)
24. (36) Bertrand Baguette, Dallara-Honda, 1:11.4345 (99.179)
25. (18) Milka Duno, Dallara-Honda, No Time (No Speed)

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 17 2010
No Comment

Comments are closed.