Home » NHRA

NHRA To Go Back Four More

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 17 2010


The NHRA announced Saturday that the 2011 NHRA Four Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway will once again feature four-wide racing in all four professional categories.

The event debuted earlier this spring at the facilities unique four-lane track. Next year’s event will again be the only race on the 2011 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series schedule that will showcase four-wide racing.

“Few would argue the amount of attention the four-wide race received leading up to and even following the event from our fans, racers and the media,” said Tom Compton, president, NHRA. “The spectacle of four-wide racing is nothing short of breathtaking and we want to build on that and share the four-wide experience with our fans once again in 2011.”

Based on feedback from the fans, the racing community and sponsors, NHRA is planning to improve upon the format and make adjustments to enhance the experience for everyone. Areas under review include the experience on-site for the fans, improving television for fans watching at home, maximizing sponsor value, and working with the race teams on operational functions including the staging process.

“I want to thank Bruton and Marcus Smith and everyone at SMI for believing in NHRA and having the vision to build a facility that is truly one of the crown jewels of the sport,” said Compton.

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA has 80,000 members and 140 member tracks worldwide. As the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States, NHRA presents 23 national events featuring the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA Get Screened America Pro Mod Drag Racing Series.

Two NHRA-sanctioned bracket racing series provide competition opportunities for drivers of all levels: the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers the Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 8 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

| , RacinToday.com Saturday, April 17 2010
No Comment

Comments are closed.