Home » NASCAR - Sprint Cup Series

DOTY Quarterly Vote Taken

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, November 29 2009

DOTY LOGOBy Lewis Franck
Driver of the Year Foundation

With the auto-racing season coming to an end, the Driver of the Year voting panel of leading broadcasters and journalists went to work evaluating the final quarter of 2009

The balloting is over and the Driver of the Year Foundation will announce the winner for the fourth quarter early next week.

All drivers racing on four wheels in a United States-based series is eligible.

For voting purposes the fourth quarter started on September 20th.

Attracting consideration from IndyCar were Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti; from NASCAR, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Ron Hornaday Jr., Jimmie Johnson, and Mark Martin; from the NHRA Robert Hight and Tony Schumacher; and from World of Outlaws, Joey Saldana and Donnie Schatz.

In quarterly voting, each panelist names six drivers and points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.

In its’ 42nd year, the DRIVER OF THE YEAR title is unique and the oldest award of its’ type. A panel of 20 leading journalists from across the U.S. determines the winner.

| , RacinToday.com Sunday, November 29 2009
One Comment

One Comment »

  • marybeth says:

    How can they not pick the old man Mark Martin? His come this season was the best storyline of 2009. He was the only driver to take Johnson down to the wire at Homestead.